Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2013, 05:02 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,795

My System Specs

Default Help a linux n00b out here.

So I have Debian installed on a Hyper-V VM. What I'd like to do is install Squid internet cache on it.

The instructions are

Quote:
Bug Reports: Bugs in package squid3 -- Debian Bug report logs

Install Procedure:

aptitude install squid3
So I try this.


So uh what am I doing here?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2013, 05:08 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

Looks like you either need to add yourself to the sudoers file, or do the installation as root rather than a user logon.
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2013, 05:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,223

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
So I have Debian installed on a Hyper-V VM. What I'd like to do is install Squid internet cache on it.

The instructions are



So I try this.


So uh what am I doing here?
By the tone of the text message you're getting I'm thinking something you're not supposed to be doing. :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2013, 05:19 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,795

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
By the tone of the text message you're getting I'm thinking something you're not supposed to be doing. :)
You are probably right.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2013, 05:47 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

brendon@debian:~$ sudo adduser brendon sudo

or login as the root account and just do : adduser brendon sudo
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2013, 06:01 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,795

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
Looks like you either need to add yourself to the sudoers file, or do the installation as root rather than a user logon.
Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
brendon@debian:~$ sudo adduser brendon sudo

or login as the root account and just do : adduser brendon sudo
Thanks these were able to help.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 10:33 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
brendon@debian:~$ sudo adduser brendon sudo

or login as the root account and just do : adduser brendon sudo
Although I am a noob at Linux also and also am very rusty at it this appears to be the correct answer.
I am curious as to what this is for and what it does
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 10:45 AM
Keywork's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Niagara
Posts: 603

My System Specs

Default

Users with sudo privileges, or "super user", have the ability to run pretty much any commands, unlike regular users who have restrictions regarding what files they can access, what programs they can execute, etc. The above commands simply add the user "brendon" to the sudoers group of users.
__________________
Friends don't let friends use onboard video.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2013, 01:18 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
Although I am a noob at Linux also and also am very rusty at it this appears to be the correct answer.
I am curious as to what this is for and what it does
On a Linux system you have multiple groups for different things that a user can be added to. By default the main user is root and due to security risks in a Linux system by using the root account they prefer that you use a regular account.

The downside to using a regular user account is that you have no access to the entire system and your are locked into your home directory. So in order to safely issue root commands so you can have elevated privileges you can use sudo which in a round about way means "super user does".

But if your not added to this group you get the error that was discovered.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linus - please show the way for this audiophile n00b unknownmember Audio 11 December 18, 2011 04:16 PM
watercool advice [me-n00b] CTA Water Cooling 3 October 3, 2010 04:19 PM
n00b Question! e_1337 Air Cooling 12 March 17, 2008 06:12 PM
Yes, I Am An OC N00b! DaBruuzer Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 January 28, 2008 08:32 AM
Network n00b help Matty D Networking 10 December 28, 2007 02:15 PM