Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2013, 06:20 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default Easy fix for win7 image printing default problems?

Does anybody know of a quick fix to get rid of the bloody windows 7 image printing "app"? I can print documents fine, and test pages work as well, but as soon as any form of image is selected for print it defaults to that freaking windows "print a picture" screen which as far as I know has never bloody well worked.

Is there something simple I'm missing to be able to get programs to use the default printer drivers rather than the abortion that is windows7 image printing?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2013, 07:09 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Hrm..... I've got it to at least work by removing the printer drivers / software and relying on windows to treat it as a network printer..........

It's using the PCL6 drivers as opposed to the manufacturer's drivers. That's not a solution though... I don't think the problem is with the Samsung drivers I'm thinking that it's with the windows photo printing setup.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP

Last edited by sswilson; June 3, 2013 at 07:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2013, 07:23 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,849
Default

all need to set printer as default by right clicking in printers and set what programs to for a task from menu
Attached Images
 

Last edited by KaptCrunch; June 3, 2013 at 07:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2013, 07:31 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
all need to set printer as default by right clicking in printers
Setting the printer as default has absolutely nothing to do with my problem. The issue is that windows defaults to using it's own image viewing program for both viewing and printing of all images rather than letting programs work with the native printer drivers directly.

As it stands, it's now working using the stock windows drivers and it looks like I've got the most important settings still available, however it's not the full slate of options I'm used to seeing from the actual Samsung drivers.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2013, 07:39 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,849
Default

Steve its on the menu of your printer properties under perferences
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 3, 2013, 07:47 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaptCrunch View Post
Steve its on the menu of your printer properties under perferences
What is? A way to stop windows from defaulting to WIV for images?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Image problems on 42" LCD TV FetusAvenger Display Units 3 February 23, 2011 07:38 PM
Anyone having problems with Win7 installing the latest updates KRAFTIG O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 September 29, 2010 02:42 PM
Office 2007 printing issue Kilauea O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 January 21, 2010 01:53 PM
printing passport photo jay51 Peripherals 1 September 25, 2009 08:21 PM
Toshiba image problems Kilauea Display Units 5 August 15, 2009 02:01 PM