Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 01:19 PM
bigFOIG's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Vancouver, B.C.
Posts: 426

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xeven View Post
I use Windows 8 as my main OS. However, I don't use "metro" apps and skip directly to desktop so it might as well be Windows 7 for all I care.
This
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 01:51 PM
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Toronto
Posts: 48
Default

I use win 8 on my laptop which is my main workstation. NO issues with it whatsoever. I usually skip straight to the desktop and work directly from there. I will not upgrade my game system to W8 because there are some compatibility issues with some of the software I use. (It needs IE 9 or below; recompile needed for IE 10).

I dont see the point in whining about Metro, i simply dont use it that much. Lack of a start menu? hmmm, Metro's start screen seems to emulate exactly how I was using the start menu before - start typing the program name and it filters the results. Only gripe is it has a separate area for programs and settings. So no major complaints with Win 8.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 01:58 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus2002 View Post
I use win 8 on my laptop which is my main workstation. NO issues with it whatsoever. I usually skip straight to the desktop and work directly from there. I will not upgrade my game system to W8 because there are some compatibility issues with some of the software I use. (It needs IE 9 or below; recompile needed for IE 10).

I dont see the point in whining about Metro, i simply dont use it that much. Lack of a start menu? hmmm, Metro's start screen seems to emulate exactly how I was using the start menu before - start typing the program name and it filters the results. Only gripe is it has a separate area for programs and settings. So no major complaints with Win 8.
\


Exactly... those of us who don't like the metro interface are the folks who have never used the search function in that manner (except maybe to bring up cmd quickly) and have no intention to start. (pun intended.... ;) ).

Folks like yourself who were using the search function prior to win8 are the target market for the new interface.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 02:37 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus2002 View Post
I use win 8 on my laptop which is my main workstation. NO issues with it whatsoever. I usually skip straight to the desktop and work directly from there. I will not upgrade my game system to W8 because there are some compatibility issues with some of the software I use. (It needs IE 9 or below; recompile needed for IE 10).

I dont see the point in whining about Metro, i simply dont use it that much. Lack of a start menu? hmmm, Metro's start screen seems to emulate exactly how I was using the start menu before - start typing the program name and it filters the results. Only gripe is it has a separate area for programs and settings. So no major complaints with Win 8.
You are probably also what 25 years old? And only started using Windows when XP was around?

Us older generation are used to mouse and clicking..
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 04:52 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 441

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
You are probably also what 25 years old? And only started using Windows when XP was around?

Us older generation are used to mouse and clicking..
And some of us remember when they introduced this mouse thing and a graphical interface. I amaze myself when I get to the command prompt and remember what it was like and even some of the command.
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 05:39 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,035

My System Specs

Default

I have tried to use windows 8 on multiple occasions and I just can't like it. While it does boot fast and has a great task manager, the lack of start menu and metro as a whole just kills it for me. Now if they can fix those issues then I could see myself changing, maybe.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 05:49 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 405
Default

Regarding the start menu and metro, there is Classic Shell. Pretty much turns it into windows 7. It boots straight to desktop instead of the start screen, for the people who don't like change.

Of course I hear a lot of reasons NOT to switch. But what are some good reasons to go to Windows 8?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 05:59 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 405
Default

I thought this was kinda cool. If you're using Windows mainly for gaming, Metro can be quite nice:
http://i.imgur.com/RJLUt.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 07:08 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 819

My System Specs

Default

Win8 is now my primary desktop OS. Metro sucks ass but can be avoided, after a while the crappy Seattle lock screen is only thing that bugs me. Despite what some people might say.. IT'S NOT THE GARBAGE THEY ONCE CALLED "VISTA". :)
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2013, 03:26 AM
AlienIsGOD's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kingston, Ontario Canada
Posts: 39

My System Specs

Default

cant be bothered to change to 8 all 3 of my PC's run 7 and its working just fine. Thats not to say i havent tried 8, i used it throughout the beta period and was impressed with memory usage over 7 and the enhanced Task Manager was also a welcomed addition.
__________________
Gaming Rig (Gaming Cruncher): i5 3570K @ 4.2ghz, Sapphire 7870 2GB, EVGA Z77 FTW Mobo, 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR 3, Kingston SSDNOW V300 120GB | 1000GB Data, Corsair HX 1000w PSU, Antec P280 case

24/7 WCG Cruncher: i5 2400 @3.4ghz, Gigabyte HD 7770 1GB (GPU Cruncher), AsRock Z68M/USB3 Mobo, 8GB HyperX DDR 3, 120GB HyperX Blue SSD | 1TB storage, Thermaltake TR2 500w PSU, Thermaltake Soprano Snow Edition case

Laptop: Asus G74Sx | i7 2630QM, GTX 560M 3GB, 12 GB DDR 3 1333, 750GB Sata II HDD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android Jelly Beans more Windows than Microsoft Windows 8 botat29 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 15 December 28, 2012 07:30 PM
Windows N Keys Work With Normal Windows? geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 June 9, 2010 08:18 PM
Microsoft Windows 7 and Windows Live Mail shaman44 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 April 6, 2010 06:29 PM
Windows 7 Installation Problems: Stuck at Expanding Windows Fles flightsimnerd Troubleshooting 9 February 16, 2010 01:57 PM
Windows 7 Boxed Units Outsell Windows Vista by 234% FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 6, 2009 11:41 AM