Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 10:51 AM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 296

My System Specs

Default Free Disk Clone Software - Windows

Just got a new laptop, and I installed a mSATA drive in it immediately. I'm wanting to clone everything over to the mSATA, and then wipe the 1 TB HDD in the laptop, and just use it as bulk storage.

Is there a decent free app that can do this? I downloaded Acronis, but the free version doesn't allow disk cloning. Google seems like a minefield of bloatware when I search for a app that can do this.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 10:56 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

I've used Easeus Partition Master, but if you check the website of your HDD maker there's probably a free branded version of Acronis you can use. Both Seagate and WD offer it, or used to.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 11:31 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
I've used Easeus Partition Master, but if you check the website of your HDD maker there's probably a free branded version of Acronis you can use. Both Seagate and WD offer it, or used to.
The migration software from most manufacturers only works when cloning TO a drive from said manufacturer, not FROM it.

Personally, I use TODO Backup from EaseUS. It costs a bit but I love the ability to do bare metal migration through the Windows PE environment.

It basically allows you do take your whole Windows installation, strip away the drivers and migrate it to a completely new system, while also retaining every one of your programs and even optimizing for HDD-> SSD migrations.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 12:16 PM
SpaceSquad's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 40

My System Specs

Default

I use Redo Backup Bare Metal Restore Solution GUI Backup Open Source GPL Recovery ...it is very good and very easy to use. I used clonezilla for a long time - but Redo is fantastic for simple+easy cloning.
__________________
-Space
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 01:16 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
The migration software from most manufacturers only works when cloning TO a drive from said manufacturer, not FROM it.
Kind of OT, but are you sure about that? I'm pretty sure I used the WD version when I cloned my WD drive to my new Seagate a couple of months ago.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 01:26 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Yeah I've never had any problem specifically with the WD version. I'm even pretty sure I've gone from a Seagate OS drive to a Corsair SSD with a WD black as my storage drive.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 02:07 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 488

My System Specs

Default

Even then Acronis is only 40$ and there's not much need for the PLUS pack either (mine just came in for free as a sale.)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 03:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,498

My System Specs

Default

Clonezilla, Paragon Backup and Recovery, Macrium Reflect, DriveImage XML. All are free or have free versions.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2013, 03:11 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

I might have been looking at it wrong but when I looked at buying acronis last year the functions I wanted were spread out over several packages. It struck me as being like the cable packages where they sprinkle the good channels in with ones you'll never watch so that you have to subscribe to several mostly useless bundles in order to get the few nuggets. I seriously spend a few days looking over the options and couldn't find one that met my needs unless I bought every product they offered.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2013, 05:06 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,664
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Kind of OT, but are you sure about that? I'm pretty sure I used the WD version when I cloned my WD drive to my new Seagate a couple of months ago.
Odd. I had an issue going from a WD 1TB drive to a Seagate 4TB with WD's software last week. It just didn't work and gave me an error saying "incompatible drive".
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I boot windows off a USB flash disk? hen555 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 December 30, 2012 06:53 AM
BOOTMGR is missing. Windows 7 Won't Boot From Disk JoeOnePack O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 December 10, 2012 09:26 AM
Backup software/imaging or clone? Mac29 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 September 16, 2011 03:10 AM
Disk image backup + restore on media free? clone63 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 May 18, 2010 11:18 PM
Disk imaging software. Il Duce Troubleshooting 6 December 21, 2008 09:27 PM