Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2013, 08:27 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,306

My System Specs

Default XBMC no sound

I have know idea what is going on I updated my XBMC the other day and everything worked perfectly even earlier today it worked . just now I tried to load a couple of different video and they play good but no sound and in the upper right it shows the sound crossed out. I seen that and thought that maybe I was muted but it isn't and sound works for everything but xbmc I even checked to make sure that the proper card was listened in the XBMC software , updated the audio drivers even uninstalled rebooted and re installed the xbmc software grrr I was hoping that it was a late April fools joke but it isn't.
Any one have any suggestions because I really can't think of anything else to do
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2013, 08:46 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,924

My System Specs

Default

You can mute the sound from within XBMC. Try hitting F8 or go in to the audio options while playing the file and deselect the mute.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2013, 09:03 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,306

My System Specs

Default

that didn't work , I did totally uninstall but this time I removed my profile and then ran ccleaner to get rid of every single registry left over and rebooted installed every thing is working once again , strange I haven't had anything happen to me like this since my windows XP days lol
Not sure what the problem was but it is working now.
Thank you for the reply though :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2013, 04:16 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 416
Default

How do you have your system setup? Are you using the sound thru HDMI on your gpu or are you using the sound from your motherboard? Disable whichever one you are not using in "Playback Devices". This should force XBMC to use the other. You can also try fiddling with the sound source in XBMC settings. I believe its under System/Audio in XBMC.

Edit:
Noticed you got it working.
There was/is a bug in Catalyst that caused issues with HDMI audio at times requiring the cable to be unplugged and plugged back in to reset it or of course restart the machine to do so. Maybe try a new catalyst(or beta) if it happens again.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xbmc help scruff HTPC Systems & Software 3 December 12, 2010 12:51 PM
XBMC/Network help p3t3rson HTPC Systems & Software 5 August 8, 2010 06:14 PM
XBMC Advice Arinoth HTPC Systems & Software 29 July 28, 2010 07:58 AM
Zotac MAG XBMC box Realityshift HTPC Systems & Software 17 July 3, 2010 12:02 AM
XBMC wifi p3t3rson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 March 9, 2010 10:37 AM