Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2013, 12:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Question CoreTemp

Hi everyone !
I play Starcraft 2 on my laptop (not a gaming one) and the game makes it run pretty hot ! (around 80C and my max temp is 85 !)
So i also run Coretemp just to monitor... and i was wondering if it has a impact on the game...
i mean, is Coretemp a "heavy load" program ? Should i keep it running while im playing ?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2013, 12:58 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bostonkikiki View Post
Hi everyone !
I play Starcraft 2 on my laptop (not a gaming one) and the game makes it run pretty hot ! (around 80C and my max temp is 85 !)
So i also run Coretemp just to monitor... and i was wondering if it has a impact on the game...
i mean, is Coretemp a "heavy load" program ? Should i keep it running while im playing ?
Thanks
Coretemp is a minimal load program and for a laptop 80 is perfectly normal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2013, 01:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

is it normal to be 5C below the Tjunction ????
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2013, 01:17 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bostonkikiki View Post
is it normal to be 5C below the Tjunction ????
Coretemp may not be reading properly. Try realtemp
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 26, 2013, 04:54 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Coretemp may not be reading properly. Try realtemp
I like SpeedFan personally
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2013, 12:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,379

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Quicken View Post
I like SpeedFan personally
I second the speed fan motion.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2013, 08:19 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

Ok.. but i'm pretty sure coretemp reads the temps correctly, since speedfan and aida64 tell me the same thing... My only problem with speedfan is that the program doesnt detect the fan ! I have everything up to date, so i really don't know where that problem comes from... It's a Samsung laptop 3 series with Win8. I took a look in the bios, but there's nothing there..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 27, 2013, 08:25 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

SC2 on a laptop... Not gonna perform as well as you will on a desktop. I've tried lol.

Laptops generally don't have good airflow and SC2 is both GPU and CPU intensive, causing the spike in temperatures. Especially when you got tons of army on the screen. My GTX 460 can barely handle muta-ling-baneling or Ultralisks, keeping the FPS above 30 at current settings.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2013, 06:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: France
Posts: 92

My System Specs

Default

Well i can't play on my desktop since it's a 10y.o. Dell pentium4 @2Ghz... and... half a gig of ram lol
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
coretemp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CoreTemp vs. Speedfan Jake_HT O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 January 20, 2009 11:16 PM
Speedfan or CoreTemp ? Unklmo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 April 12, 2008 12:53 PM
TAT vs Coretemp? Spblue Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 January 9, 2008 09:07 PM