Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2013, 11:16 AM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,005

My System Specs

Default Win 7 OEM in a new build

The internet is full of confusion over this point, and my HWC search didn't yield me an answer. I have Windows 7 OEM on my current computer, which links itself with the motherboard (from what I understand). I would only have it running in the new build (current CPU/MOB/Ram would be parted out). I am not doing this right now, but wanted a solid answer before upgrade time comes around.

If I did get a new CPU/MOB/Ram, am I forced into buying a new copy of Windows? Can Microsoft be called to use it in the new build, or am I SOL? Please don't answer if you are just guessing (I have read enough of that on the internet). Looking for a solid answer.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2013, 03:11 PM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,253

My System Specs

Default

As long as you have the validation numbers and the OS on a dvd you can use it again. You may have to communicate with windoze and convey to them that you had a catastrophic failure of a computer component. They will give you another number to punch in and then you are good to go.
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2013, 05:17 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,005

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
As long as you have the validation numbers and the OS on a dvd you can use it again. You may have to communicate with windoze and convey to them that you had a catastrophic failure of a computer component. They will give you another number to punch in and then you are good to go.
Thanks for your help. I do have the original DVD/validation numbers.

Everyone agree? Anyone ever have an issue getting a new number?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2013, 06:01 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,926

My System Specs

Default

Legally, you aren't supposed to, but MS typically will just activate it over the phone regardless once you tell them your hard drive/motherboard/etc died.

There's no harm in at least trying this route before buying another copy. It should run for 30 days without activation anyhow.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2013, 06:22 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,633

My System Specs

Default

Wasn't there a time frame that MS didn't have records for original installed hardware? I thought it was something like 6 months and they wouldn't know anywise.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2013, 09:57 PM
dustin1706's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 632

My System Specs

Default

I have OEM Win7 that I installed on a new system just a few months ago. It was originally installed at least 2 years ago. All I had to do was call the windows activation number and punch in the numbers the PC gave me. Then the phone service gave me a new set of numbers to punch into the pc. Whole thing takes ~10 minutes and you are good to go.
__________________
Rig1 in "My System Specs"
Rig2: Q6600, P5DN-D, GTX650, 4GB HyperX, LG BD drive, TT armor case, ek supreme HF, 655 pump, XP
Dell XPS17 - i7 2820QM, 8GB ram, 1920x1080, BluRay, GT555m 3GB, 240gb Neutron GTX, 640GB Seagate, Win7 64
Server - i5 3450, Asus P8Z77-I Deluxe, 4GB DDR3, LSI MegaRAID 9240-8I, OCZ Vertex 4 120GB, 2x SG Barracuda 3TB(RAID1), 2x WD green 2TB(RAID1), Fractal Design Array R2, WHS 2011
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 25, 2013, 01:28 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

I do this all the time, during your fresh install you will see an option to activate once you are online. Usually this does not 'kick in' right away so once installed go to system properties (Windows Key + E) and choose 'activate now'. Choose the online option, it will check and usually fail which will prompt you to use the telephone option-- Call and follow the automated steps
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My first build: Final revisions-Help&Advice (budget build) HigginsHere New Builds 4 October 9, 2012 07:56 AM
Wanting to build a Home File Server, thoughts on this build? Silver_40 New Builds 4 September 19, 2012 10:36 PM
New Build- Corsair 800D --> My cleanest build ever. Watercooled btdvox Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 28 May 11, 2010 01:07 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 VS Windows XP SP3 Build 2600 Benchmarks Veritas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 3, 2009 01:48 PM
Critique my gaming build build 1080p New Builds 10 January 14, 2009 03:18 PM