Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2013, 05:33 PM
tangrisser's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Metro Vancouver
Posts: 163
Default google search malware

I have some sort of malware installed on my laptop which forwards my Google search results to be pushed to another some what relevant web site.

I googled about this and it just said to try running malware protection software and catch whatever the malware is. It's been really annoying and I have run combo fix, malwarebytes and couple other malware protection software and nothing seems to be able to catch this.

I really don't want to have to format my laptop since I don't have my desktop at the moment. Anyway to do something about this?

PS.
And yes I know. I gotta stop watching p0rn.
__________________
Check out my SALE page
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2013, 05:53 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Wait, how did you google it if it's being routed to another website? o.o
On a serious note, have you tried running MSE.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2013, 07:17 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

sounds like your hosts file has been compromised. I would recommend creating a second user with admin access and opening up the hosts file in notepad [launch notepad with admin rights and nav to C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc].
open the hosts file and make sure the last three lines look similar to this


Code:
# localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
#	127.0.0.1       localhost
#	::1             localhost

if not... nuke everything below the above pasted code
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2013, 07:30 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,038

My System Specs

Default

also make sure you're not running a proxy in your internet settings.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2013, 08:26 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 951
Default

There are some good suggestions so far. You might want to try Norton Power Eraser as it's pretty good at finding rootkits. You might also want to try aswmbr and "fix" the mbr (unless of course you are dual booting or the like) as that could potentially be the issue.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2013, 08:32 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodscene View Post
There are some good suggestions so far. You might want to try Norton Power Eraser as it's pretty good at finding rootkits. You might also want to try aswmbr and "fix" the mbr (unless of course you are dual booting or the like) as that could potentially be the issue.
Combofix.. I won't recommend anything "Norton"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2013, 11:28 PM
tangrisser's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Metro Vancouver
Posts: 163
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Wait, how did you google it if it's being routed to another website? o.o
On a serious note, have you tried running MSE.
If I click on it the first time then it re-routes but if I go back or click on it the 2nd time then it sends me to the correct link. So it doesn't make Google unusable but it's really annoying.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
also make sure you're not running a proxy in your internet settings.
Nope, no proxy here.

I've already tried ComboFix and it didn't catch anything. Checked host file and only lists localhost.
__________________
Check out my SALE page
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 12:58 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,038

My System Specs

Default

One time I found a real bastard of a hack job that installed a virtual machine on your computer, then it bound your machine's ethernet card through the virtual machine. Everything tunneled through the virtual machine and it did the proxy work.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 06:22 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 951
Default

He already tried combofix and it didn't work. I can't stand Norton myself but this is just a standalone rootkit/virus scanner and a very effective one at that. So unless you have another suggestion you aren't helping his situation at all and in fact, possibly preventing him from fixing his issue. I've had a couple instances where Norton Power Eraser was the only program to get rid of the virus completely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Combofix.. I won't recommend anything "Norton"
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2013, 04:10 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,038

My System Specs

Default

This works pretty good: Anti-rootkit utility TDSSKiller
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is google search slow for everyone? On2wheels Off Topic 10 March 4, 2012 09:10 AM
Google Desktop Search _dangtx_ O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 August 9, 2011 12:27 PM
Google Image Search Supergrover Off Topic 4 June 19, 2011 04:58 AM
How to use google to search? Mark O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 May 29, 2009 01:00 PM
Microsoft's search excels in spreading malware: The Register Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 March 21, 2007 05:33 AM