Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2013, 08:01 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default Malwarebytes and MSE

Is it ok to run both at same time or just run Malwarebytes Scan time to time ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2013, 08:06 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Just run the MW scan from time to time. Having 2 active virus/malware scanners on your system can cause problems and really slow it down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2013, 08:31 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,564

My System Specs

Default

Yep, what Sqeetard said, and a further warning that there's always the possibility of a fatal incompatibility between two different active AVs. At Rogers we used to see (hear) of systems being completely locked up because users attempted to install the free Rogers AV over top of something like norton's that was pre-installed on their PCs (even if it was a time limitted AV that had expired). At that point the chances of recovering over the phone were about 50-50 with the most likely outcome being an OS re-install.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Malwarebytes question somecanadianguy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 35 August 17, 2009 09:43 AM