Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2013, 08:01 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default Malwarebytes and MSE

Is it ok to run both at same time or just run Malwarebytes Scan time to time ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2013, 08:06 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Just run the MW scan from time to time. Having 2 active virus/malware scanners on your system can cause problems and really slow it down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2013, 08:31 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Yep, what Sqeetard said, and a further warning that there's always the possibility of a fatal incompatibility between two different active AVs. At Rogers we used to see (hear) of systems being completely locked up because users attempted to install the free Rogers AV over top of something like norton's that was pre-installed on their PCs (even if it was a time limitted AV that had expired). At that point the chances of recovering over the phone were about 50-50 with the most likely outcome being an OS re-install.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Malwarebytes question somecanadianguy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 35 August 17, 2009 09:43 AM