Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2012, 02:29 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default People who bought Windows 8

Do you really gain anything,if you are use it on a desktop.Is it a big improvement over window 7 64bit.I just can't justify spending money on it when I don't even like the looks of the Start screen.I could see useing it if you have a laptop or a touch screen .I think I will be staying with my windows 7 64 bit unless someone could tell me a real good reason for getting it.
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2012, 07:11 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 134
Default

Everything is faster, since I'm MCTS I'm pretty good with molding windows to what I want it to be. I've never been a fan of the start menu, so that's something that's not an issue for me, which meant that i had less habits that I had to change when it came to making my way through the system. There are also considerable security upgrades, and I have found that the cooperation with other systems on my network seems to be a bit better to.

If you toss win8 on an ssd, you are going to find that you pretty much never have to wait for anything on your system ever again. Everyone spends a lot of time focusing on the Modern UI, but there are plenty of things going on with it.

When it comes to gaming, the design work I do, and multitasking; I've noticed that everything I do actually responds better and quicker than win7. the bit thing is that you will have to get used to a few changes when it comes to how you navigate a start menu. Rather than clicking on an orb that gives you a little menu, you know have one that takes up the entire screen. Nice thing is you can customise it and make it fit your needs. For me the key is to NOT use the mobile applications within the UI, I avoid those.

Couple write ups on it:
Top 10 Secret Features in Windows 8
10 Ways to Customize Windows 8 - Slideshow from PCMag.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2012, 09:37 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,383

My System Specs

Default

as far as I noticed there is no difference in anything performance wise on my desktop and if you are running win7 and it is working good then I wouldn't bother changing to windows 8.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2012, 09:49 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

At least not until DX 12 becomes an issue. Might be a new OS out by then though.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2012, 11:45 AM
elmorejohn46's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Greenville,TX
Posts: 294

My System Specs

Default

Is windows 8 DX12
__________________
Intel-i7-3820+Corsair H-100+Gigabyte X79-UD5+16g G.Skill 1666DDR3+256g Crucial-SSD+1-3TB Seagate+2-1TB-Samsung+1-640g- WesternDigtal+SLI-ASUS DIRECT CU II GTX-670+LG-12x Blurner+Logtech G9x-mouse+G-110-keyboard+Driving Force GT Wheel+Pioneer VSX-1020K+Polk Audio Speakers+LG-50"Plasma PM6700+Antec-P280+XFX 850w PRO Semi-Modular
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2012, 11:47 AM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elmorejohn46 View Post
Is windows 8 DX12
NO it is 11.1
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2012, 01:55 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

11.1+
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 10:34 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 52
Default

I have it on all of the PC's in our house now, and it seems to perform very well on a desktop. In fact, I am not a fan of the OS on a tablet, but that could be because I was accustomed to the desktop version first.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 12:44 PM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Yes. most tests reveal that even in it's infancy the OS performs just as well as 7. I expect as the OS and drivers mature it will only improve going forward.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2012, 12:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Virginia, USA!
Posts: 88

My System Specs

Default

Just installed windows 8. I really like it! Sure the no start menu and windows 8 UI is not very good but I'm sure I will get used to it and like it better.
I'm am running it solely in desktop mode with my most used programs in the task-bar, any thing else that is rarely need is on the start screen. I just wish there was a way to boot straight into the desktop without having a work around.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So, I bought the 660 Ti Energy Video Cards 8 November 24, 2012 05:01 PM
just bought my first ssd techman95 Storage 13 June 20, 2012 01:49 PM
[WTB] Bought, bought, bought MikeFallen Buy/Sell & Trade 0 July 20, 2011 12:06 PM
[WTB] Bought ToXic Buy/Sell & Trade 0 November 28, 2010 09:27 PM
Just bought new RAM, need help xXxRithxXx RAM 2 March 14, 2009 06:42 AM