Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 10:52 AM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default TechRepublic article on creating a Win8 start button

And an article on adding a Start menu type button ...

Add a self-made Start button to the Windows 8 desktop | TechRepublic
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 01:41 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 560
Default

^....i'm sorry, but WTF was that?

figure H is just the regular metro start screen?

just move your mouse to the bottom left corner and left-click, it would do the same thing. or just press your win key.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 03:38 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
And an article on adding a Start menu type button ...

Add a self-made Start button to the Windows 8 desktop | TechRepublic
I dont understand why people like adding this on. Just press windows key and type for whatever you want to launch. Thats all I use it for in Windows 7 anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 04:29 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North East Alberta
Posts: 442

My System Specs

Default Why do I need a START button???

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
And an article on adding a Start menu type button ...

Add a self-made Start button to the Windows 8 desktop | TechRepublic
While the missing "START" button has been noted by many, after a month or so of playing with Win8 I'm not sure why I'd want to load an aftermarket START button. Simply go to the corner, the "Metro" Start screen is available to there and if you have not either pined your desired program to the start menu, or to the task bar (in both the desktop or start page) or added an icon for the program to your desktop windows, then you do have to press the right mouse botton and press on the "all programs} icon and then voila a full list of all the available programs. Have too many to sort through? (they are alphabetical by group) you can type the name of the app or program and the auto search window opens.

For the most part, all the programs I want to have handy I either pin to that START (Metro) page, create an icon in desktop, or pin to the taskbar.

So why do I need a START button???
__________________
________________________________

FKD
Fort Kent, Alberta

2012 - A10 Rig
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 04:58 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,307
Default

Its NOT the 'start' button we are pissed off about. Its the missing MENU hitting the start button brought up. For anyone with a lot of programs installed a FULL SCREEN interface with down right UGLY ass icons is not a solution. And NO remembering the names of the exe / app is NOT a solution. What this (modern equivalent) DOS with a fancy GUI BS that MS is pawning off on people is a major step backwards.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 06:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Kudos to him for attempting to come out with a solution, but he's missing the point. As AkG mentioned it isn't the button that's lacking, it's the configurable menu with subfolders in a directory tree structure. All this basically does is put the "desktop" icon from the side swipebar (Charms menu?) to the taskbar. Having a button that provides me with the same flat "looks like they created shortcuts for every app onto the desktop" Metro screen isn't adding any value.

Internet polls are notoriously bad especially when it comes to a controvertial subject like this, but there's almost always a grain of truth if you dig through the fan/hater votes. I think it's pretty telling that the Max PC poll on intention to purchase win8 had 60% respond that they'll never do so even when one of the other responses was only for a touch enabled device. (I'm not in that camp, I hate the interface on a desktop, but really like it on my tablet).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 07:05 PM
Bloodystumps's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Posts: 229

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Its NOT the 'start' button we are pissed off about. Its the missing MENU hitting the start button brought up. For anyone with a lot of programs installed a FULL SCREEN interface with down right UGLY ass icons is not a solution. And NO remembering the names of the exe / app is NOT a solution. What this (modern equivalent) DOS with a fancy GUI BS that MS is pawning off on people is a major step backwards.

when you said that it got me thinking I read this some where and I did when I was reading up on Windows 3.0 Wiki. it reads just like what Win8 metro does, even kind looks like WIN 3.0

"programs File Manager and Program Manager in Windows 3.0, with the Program Manager taking on the role of the program menu. The Program Manager was a full windowed application, which required the whole screen to be used effectively. It consisted of a simple multiple document interface which allowed users to open "program groups" and then execute the shortcuts to programs contained within."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 07:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
Its NOT the 'start' button we are pissed off about. Its the missing MENU hitting the start button brought up. For anyone with a lot of programs installed a FULL SCREEN interface with down right UGLY ass icons is not a solution. And NO remembering the names of the exe / app is NOT a solution. What this (modern equivalent) DOS with a fancy GUI BS that MS is pawning off on people is a major step backwards.
Hover your mouse in the bottom left corner of your screen and right-click.






You're welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 08:01 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,307
Default

/sarcasm And....you get magically get a menu tree and not that craptacular icon grid layout that no one really likes? WOW what a great hint.
....Just checked....
Nope. Still the same crap.
/sarcasm

This is the problem with MS and fanbois. Anyone who doesnt think their latest and greatest is an improvement must be an idiot. Try using that layout when you have 50 - 60 programs installed...each with a couple icons each...hell try it will 30 installed and see how 'effecient' it is vs a menu Tree. :/

The grid layout and search option is crap for the desktop. Utter crap. I've been using PCs since Dos 2 days. Windows 8 is the closest modern replication of Windows 3 that I have ever seen....except Win 3 had more 'window' support and was less buggy. It was fun (not really) trying it but its being nuked and win 7 is being put back on. Thank god for technet as I would NOT pay for this garbage. Hell I would refuse to use it UNLESS was PAID to do so on a desktop.....tablet. Yes, its good. Smart even. Desktops...no. Kill this crap with fire.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 09:10 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
/sarcasm And....you get magically get a menu tree and not that craptacular icon grid layout that no one really likes? WOW what a great hint.
....Just checked....
Nope. Still the same crap.
/sarcasm

This is the problem with MS and fanbois. Anyone who doesnt think their latest and greatest is an improvement must be an idiot. Try using that layout when you have 50 - 60 programs installed...each with a couple icons each...hell try it will 30 installed and see how 'effecient' it is vs a menu Tree. :/

The grid layout and search option is crap for the desktop. Utter crap. I've been using PCs since Dos 2 days. Windows 8 is the closest modern replication of Windows 3 that I have ever seen....except Win 3 had more 'window' support and was less buggy. It was fun (not really) trying it but its being nuked and win 7 is being put back on. Thank god for technet as I would NOT pay for this garbage. Hell I would refuse to use it UNLESS was PAID to do so on a desktop.....tablet. Yes, its good. Smart even. Desktops...no. Kill this crap with fire.
So very well said. I just looked at my start menu and counted. I have under all programs 15 top level shortcuts and 120 folders. Now I'm not going to go and count each and every icon but I would venture a guess of say 300-400. No imagine that on a metro style start screen, it would be complete crap.

Also people talk about just hitting the windows key and type for the search, well unfortunately I have found it worse than the windows 7 search. Why? Because it separates the results. With win 7 it would group all your results together whether it is a program or setting option but in win 8 it means you have to type what you want then move the mouse to select settings to find the correct result. I might not have worded it right but either way I found the search more cumbersome than in win 7.

And like AkG said this is so close to windows 3 that it is not even funny.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced Win8 OEM with Win 7 Pro Driver Problem The Quicken O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 February 3, 2013 09:46 PM
Win8 Shortcut Key Map tethlah O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 December 15, 2012 01:27 PM
Windows 8 to have no start button. muse108dc O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 February 6, 2012 05:19 PM
10 Thinngs TO KNOW in your sleep [techrepublic.com] ZZLEE Reviews & Articles from the Web 6 February 26, 2010 03:28 PM
Start Button and Taskbar problems. Win 7 shammancer O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 January 5, 2010 12:52 PM