Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2012, 08:31 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default Partition on Linux Mint

I run Linux Mint since a wild in VM, and I want to install it for good on my main PC. ( Will get out this Windows 8 no sense)

I have few question about the drive partition.

For now I have a 40 GB SSD and a 2 TB Mecanical formated to NTFS with data one it. ( I have an extra new 2 TB HD )

So the question; If I connect only the 40 GB SSD and I install Mint , can I simply connect the 2 TB after and have access to my Data , or will be better to install the 40 SSD and a blank 2 TB GB and then transfer the data on it since I have a duplicate on my 2012 servers . In boot case, what is the best way to create partitions, keep in mind that I don't really create partition in Linux before.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2012, 08:35 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by botat29 View Post
I run Linux Mint since a wild in VM, and I want to install it for good on my main PC. ( Will get out this Windows 8 no sense)

I have few question about the drive partition.

For now I have a 40 GB SSD and a 2 TB Mecanical formated to NTFS with data one it. ( I have an extra new 2 TB HD )

So the question; If I connect only the 40 GB SSD and I install Mint , can I simply connect the 2 TB after and have access to my Data , or will be better to install the 40 SSD and a blank 2 TB GB and then transfer the data on it since I have a duplicate on my 2012 servers . In boot case, what is the best way to create partitions, keep in mind that I don't really create partition in Linux before.
Linux can read from NTFS just fine and write to it to it fine but its still a "heed of caution to do it" sort of thing.

Windows can read from EXT3 and EXT4 with a driver installed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2012, 08:36 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Ok, let say I do a fresh install 100 % Mint, how to I partition it to have the OS on the SSD and the Data on the 2 TB ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2012, 08:41 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by botat29 View Post
Ok, let say I do a fresh install 100 % Mint, how to I partition it to have the OS on the SSD and the Data on the 2 TB ?
You don't. Install Mint onto the SSD and just mount the 2TB drive in linux and it will access the data just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2012, 03:28 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
You don't. Install Mint onto the SSD and just mount the 2TB drive in linux and it will access the data just fine.
I think he means he wants the /home directories on the HDD. If you just set the / mount point to the SSD, everything will go there by default.

To answer your question, during the setup process, choose the custom partition option. It will detect both drives and ask you where you want to put each directory.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2012, 04:34 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YoungMan View Post
I think he means he wants the /home directories on the HDD. If you just set the / mount point to the SSD, everything will go there by default.

To answer your question, during the setup process, choose the custom partition option. It will detect both drives and ask you where you want to put each directory.
Not worth doing.. just keep linux on its own drive.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2012, 05:56 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

So I will put / on the SSD and /home on the mechanical , what about the swap, I put it on the SSD or the mechanical ? With 16 gb of RAM, did it will use the swap that much ?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2012, 11:07 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 411
Default

I don't even make a swap partition with more than 4GB of RAM. However, by default, the OS will try to use SWAP anyway.
You have to manually disable the swappiness, so it doesn't try to use the SWAP partition at all:
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Sw...I_change_it.3F

Linux mint is based off ubuntu, so no worries, it's the same thing.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 26, 2012, 04:17 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

It's Pinguy that I finally install.

/ SSD 40 GB
/home HD 650 GB
swap 16 GB

I separate the /home so if I want change the distro, it's more easy

for now I even have few VM in Virtual Box, my remote desktop with my servers work , thunderbird was so easy to configue ( I just put my email address and password, no need to give servers setting) , my conky and docky are setup , everything is already install with Pinguy



Last edited by botat29; November 26, 2012 at 04:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2012, 04:40 PM
SpaceSquad's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 40

My System Specs

Default

You won't be dissapointed! Glad to see another convert :)
__________________
-Space
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ext4 partition won't work on Linux? AJR O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 November 2, 2012 05:52 PM
Canadian Mint at it again Arinoth Off Topic 21 September 22, 2011 05:33 PM
SSD How to merge unallocated partition to primary partition in Windows 7 Mark Troubleshooting 22 May 14, 2010 04:32 PM
Mint P3 System? WTF? JD Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 10 August 3, 2009 09:43 AM
Fat Partition to NTFS Boot Partition PaxeSalute O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 May 2, 2008 01:28 PM