Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2012, 05:31 PM
AJR AJR is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 48
Default Program on HDD, OS on SSD...

Hey all,

I just finished my new build and installed WIN7 on my SSD. I'll be installing my most used applications on the SSD for speed, but there are a bunch I want to install onto the HDD to save space.

I tried this just now and realized that though the program works, it does not create the executable program files in the normal windows OS places (desktop/start menu/quick launch/etc). In other words, I had to navigate to my D drive, open the program folder, and launch the program from there.

Is there any way to install programs to the HDD (D drive), but have the programs in my start menu on the SSD (C drive)?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2012, 06:15 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,305

My System Specs

Default

I just right click on the program.exe file then select Send to create shortcut on desktop. thats is the easiest way
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2012, 06:26 PM
AJR AJR is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I just right click on the program.exe file then select Send to create shortcut on desktop. thats is the easiest way
Sweet, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2012, 06:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

It sounds to me like you installed the programs on the other drive without the OS SSD installed, or are trying to use the programs off of your original OS drive when you upgraded to an SSD. The great majority of programs these days will give you the option to do a custom install which allows you to select the installation location. Aside from installing in a different location, the rest of the install is exactly the same as installing it on your C drive and should therefore be included in your start menu and/or desktop (if the program gives you that option).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2012, 06:29 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 560
Default

to be accurate, windows/installers DON'T place the executables in the start menu/any of the places you listed by default. it places them in 'program files' and it places shortcuts in those places you listed.

so, do what shadowmeph said or do as he said, except choose 'pin to start menu' instead of creating a desktop shortcut. or just do both.

ps, is your SSD really that small?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2012, 06:35 PM
AJR AJR is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 48
Default

I bought a 120GB SSD, but I also partitioned it to do a dual boot with linux. Soooo, it's not *that* small, but I'm just trying to be proactive with saving space. There are certain programs that I don't see any real advantage of having on the SSD, so I'll pop them on the HDD and call it a win in saved space.

I'm actually having trouble getting my dual boot to work, if you can check out my other thread about that. Still not sure what to do exactly...

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Syncing program Inik O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 September 16, 2009 02:10 PM
Conversion Program SiDiX007 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 May 16, 2009 06:56 PM
Best program to overclock an AMD X2 Gooses Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 April 22, 2009 06:05 PM
BFG Step up program Frank Booth Video Cards 16 April 20, 2009 11:34 PM
program Rapid-X O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 September 3, 2007 06:13 PM