Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2012, 04:33 PM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

The freebie is available until January 31/2013 and must be installed/activated before that date as well so if you get it in advance, you only have a couple of months to "use it or lose it".
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2012, 04:45 PM
Mena's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hanover, Ontario
Posts: 474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by botat29 View Post
That's not the point. Usually Enterprise is like Ultimate, more features than Pro not less. And what about Windows 8 , why you need Windows 8 Pro to get Media Center, it,S make no more sense.
Steven Sinofsky is really retarded
Hmm....Try compatibility mode. IF it is still in Windows 8 that is.....
__________________
I am watching you.

For me, insanity is super sanity. The normal is psychotic. Normal means lack of imagination, lack of creativity.

When a ladder was stolen from a store the manager said that further steps would be taken
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 27, 2012, 04:50 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Will not work, the control panel don't have the add on features need to install it, no I cheack it's not available, like if CEO can't have a huge LCD in their office , or even in a conference room
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2012, 09:07 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

Honestly I don't know why they have more than 2 versions of Windows anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2012, 09:09 AM
Mena's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hanover, Ontario
Posts: 474
Default

Got my key....but I am sure that this is an unchanged version of MCE compared to Vista and 7.

For everything else there's XBMC. :D
__________________
I am watching you.

For me, insanity is super sanity. The normal is psychotic. Normal means lack of imagination, lack of creativity.

When a ladder was stolen from a store the manager said that further steps would be taken
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2012, 09:20 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

One thing that MC has that the others don't (or I missed this feature) is a live TV viewing option for tuners. I've got an older ATI card that has win7 compatible drivers, but the viewing app isn't compatible. Win7 Ultimate MC allows me to watch TV on it.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2012, 12:58 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

with the MC you can stream from your PC to a Xbox in another room, true the network,

Yesterday I try the Xbox Smart Glass, pretty cool. I can use my 15" touch screen monitor as a Xbox controller, some games will even go more far as display the map on the touch screen, of course from a PC it's not that great, but from a tablet or a Windows Phone I'm sure it'S cool, you don't need MC for it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OTA HD Windows 7 Media Center problem CMetaphor Off Topic 6 January 25, 2012 01:21 PM
Setting up a PS3 for windows media center grifter11 Networking 15 April 7, 2011 08:20 AM
Windows Media Center w/ SP3 Reports 1.75GB of RAM Saterial RAM 4 August 2, 2009 03:46 PM
[FS] HTPC KIT PVR1600, OFFICIAL MS Media Center Remote/keyboard + XP media Center 2005 b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 10 January 9, 2009 03:00 PM
[WTB] Windows XP Media Center Remote! Scotch Tape Buy/Sell & Trade 2 December 2, 2008 07:11 PM