Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 05:06 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tyreman View Post
Best way to is learn for yourself bout each OS

The only way you will learn anything in regards to this is to do it for yourself

Try each OS out.

To expensive you say? get a ms tech net subscription
Not so much any more. Technet subs are now restricted to enterprise / pro versions of OS. (I won't be re-subscribing when the time comes).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 11:09 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Not so much any more. Technet subs are now restricted to enterprise / pro versions of OS. (I won't be re-subscribing when the time comes).
That is quite true

I have the ms subscription and yes it is 7 pro(various other iterations available)
The ms office tech net gives is better than student teacher version and I don't think I can get both, OS & office, for my other computers separately for the tech net fee that's why I use tech net.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 12:18 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

I think that they removed part of explorer in win8 which make it quicker because when I was using the hack it would sometimes freeze up when loading things like firefox I would have to load the task manager and restart explorer. but when I removed the hack there where no freezes ever so it had something to do with the explorer and start menu.
I think that once people learn or memorize the shortcuts win 8 would be a decent OS
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 12:26 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Not so much any more. Technet subs are now restricted to enterprise / pro versions of OS. (I won't be re-subscribing when the time comes).
LOl, I renew mine and they authorize the cc 3 weeks ago and they never charge it, my subscription is now renew until September 2013 for free, it's the second time MS mess up something and don't charge .....
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 12:27 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I think that they removed part of explorer in win8 which make it quicker because when I was using the hack it would sometimes freeze up when loading things like firefox I would have to load the task manager and restart explorer. but when I removed the hack there where no freezes ever so it had something to do with the explorer and start menu.
I think that once people learn or memorize the shortcuts win 8 would be a decent OS
I think that's the main disconnect with the users (like myself) who hate the new interface (and who are praying for linux game support prior to win7 losing it's support). Quite frankly, the only shortcuts I use with any regularity are ctrl-c / ctrl-v, even using the windows key is restricted to those times when I want to drop to the desktop from an application (like a full screen game) that isn't windowed.

I use menus almost exclusively, and have no desire to learn / memorize shortcuts, or non-inuitive methods of accessing what I need/want.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 04:46 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

can someone tell me why steam won't be working in desktop mode in win8?
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 11:25 PM
muse108dc's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Vancouver North
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
can someone tell me why steam won't be working in desktop mode in win8?
steam will work, not sure where you got that it wouldn't. It won't be in metro but then nothing worthwhile for the desktop will be. Which is why 8 is mostly useless. Should add that it won't be working on the arm version, RT, but it will work on any x86 system, aka Intel or AMD.

though it will take willpower to stop me buying a surface this month, I want to wait for the pro version.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2012, 09:17 AM
Fleurious's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tottenham, ON
Posts: 137

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I think that's the main disconnect with the users (like myself) who hate the new interface (and who are praying for linux game support prior to win7 losing it's support). Quite frankly, the only shortcuts I use with any regularity are ctrl-c / ctrl-v, even using the windows key is restricted to those times when I want to drop to the desktop from an application (like a full screen game) that isn't windowed.

I use menus almost exclusively, and have no desire to learn / memorize shortcuts, or non-inuitive methods of accessing what I need/want.
I'm in the same boat except I quite frequently use WinKey-Left/Right at work when working with two documents per screen. I just hope MS goes back to the start menu for the next Windows because I've never been able to get the hang of Linux.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2012, 02:25 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 561
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muse108dc View Post
steam will work, not sure where you got that it wouldn't. It won't be in metro but then nothing worthwhile for the desktop will be. Which is why 8 is mostly useless. Should add that it won't be working on the arm version, RT, but it will work on any x86 system, aka Intel or AMD.

though it will take willpower to stop me buying a surface this month, I want to wait for the pro version.
I'm actually quite well aware of this ;)

then if steam works normally, why do people demand linux support all of a sudden?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fleurious View Post
I just hope MS goes back to the start menu for the next Windows because I've never been able to get the hang of Linux.
don't count on it.

source: microsoft rep at conference*

*this was what I was told about a year ago. Obviously been a long time, but i haven't seen any reason to believe otherwise.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2012, 07:41 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,230

My System Specs

Default

Well that settles it - I'm reverting my main desktop back to Windows 7

Neither my Razer Blackwidow or Logitech G500's software work with Windows 8 (and I don't want to get into trying anything silly like disabling security features to try to get them working). I could afford to have my sound card and USB 3.0 with semi-functional Windows 7 drivers, but when I found out it would be impossible for me to use a macro key...

Too bad it also means saying goodbye to File History and the defrag program that sends TRIMs to the SSD, but I suppose there's 3rd party programs that can do those.

EDIT:
If you want to know some other issues I found with 3rd party stuff - I could deal with these but the keyboard and mouse thing was a deal breaker:
  • MSI Kombustor can't test in DirectX 11 mode
  • Setting Firefox as default browser makes the Internet Explorer shortcut always point to the "desktop" version of IE
  • My Caviar Black 1TB doesn't work properly off my motherboard's SATA 6.0Gbps port regardless of whether I use Intel or Microsoft drivers
Stuff that I found worked perfectly other than Microsoft stuff:
  • MSI Afterburner (including video record)
  • TeamSpeak 3
  • APC PowerChute
  • Dropbox
  • MercurialHG
  • VisualHG Plugin for Visual Studio 2010 (mercurial VCS)
  • BOINC Manager on the CPU
  • TrueCrypt (except encrypting system partitions - didn't try that one although I did use encrypted non-system partitions with no issue)
  • Guild Wars 2
  • HDTune
  • Unison
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]

Last edited by frontier204; October 17, 2012 at 07:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new build windows wont install sg53bt New Builds 5 April 6, 2012 03:13 PM
New Build - Windows won't load bonanza2000 Troubleshooting 7 April 17, 2011 04:33 PM
windows 7 retail build number BobbyLou O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 December 14, 2009 04:42 PM
Windows 7 Build 7057 Screenshots Veritas O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 14, 2009 01:23 PM
Windows 7 Build 7000 VS Windows XP SP3 Build 2600 Benchmarks Veritas Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 March 3, 2009 02:48 PM