Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 11:31 AM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default Do I need all of those?

When installing a fresh OS copy, besides the chipset, lan & audio drivers, there are those SATA/Intel rapid storage drivers, USB3 drivers etc.. Do they actually affect anything? Do you think I should install them?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 11:40 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,399

My System Specs

Default

If it's a driver and not an "app" I always install them. For years AMD has had some kind of "USB Filter" which I have absolutely no idea what it does, but I always install it anywise... :)

In most cases I'd think the motherboard / chipset manufacturer would know how to make their own hardware run best. The only recent issue of not wanting to use the native drivers I can recall was the use of Microsoft's AHCI driver on AMD chipsets in order to allow TRIM to work.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 01:27 PM
GT7R's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Our universe
Posts: 991

My System Specs

Default

That's what I've thought.. Although I always prefer doing things the minimalistic way, I do install them as you've said - just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 02:33 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 560
Default

Personally, I install everything - I think* certain ports just won't work without drivers.

the only thing I DON'T install is Intel RST. I'm just not picky enough about performance to care and I don't really use any features from it.

*emphasis here
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2012, 04:12 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generic User #2 View Post
Personally, I install everything - I think* certain ports just won't work without drivers.

the only thing I DON'T install is Intel RST. I'm just not picky enough about performance to care and I don't really use any features from it.

*emphasis here
Better to check the website for the board to make sure you have up to date drivers.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2012, 04:39 AM
Ravenor's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 169

My System Specs

Default

I am the same, minimalistic in the drivers that I install with a fresh OS install. But drivers are drivers. USB, chipset, lan, audio is about the standard fair for what gets installed. if you are worried about the RST drivers, look them up and see what they do.....that reminds me, I should look them up and see what they do.
__________________
How am I suppose to act randomly without some direction? Anyone? Bueller? - Deadpool
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 20, 2012, 05:06 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

I just install LAN, audio, USB3 and chipset.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes