Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 03:32 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,472
Default

Comodo? What a joke and software firewalls cause more problems than good
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 04:43 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,035

My System Specs

Default

MSE for me as well. I also second having Malwarebytes on the system as well just in case something does get past.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 05:19 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,254
Default

MSE + Malwarebytes is a very good combo.

Another excellent combination is Avira Free Edition + Malwarebytes.

Avira is a bit more persnickety and resource heavy than MSE but it is damn good.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 05:59 PM
WhippWhapp's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

MSE gets my vote
__________________
I rub and whack and choke and stroke!

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 06:10 PM
SpaceSquad's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 40

My System Specs

Default

On my friend's/family's Windows computers I install AVG for anti-virus.

Or...Clamwin on Windows Server
__________________
-Space
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 06:17 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,214

My System Specs

Default

MSE + MalwareBytes for my household as well. IMO, MSE is a no-brainer so long as the OS is legit... MS will ensure it continues to work through any patch / update. MBam is great to have installed just in case something makes it through MSE.

I was a big fan of AVG for the longest time but then they just put out too many versions I had intermittent problems with... one version would work fine with one PC, the same version wouldn't update definitions on a different PC with the same OS is one issue I remember... it also seemed to start pushing hard for the full version IIRC.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 09:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 62
Default

MSE is by far the best solution out of what you've listed. In fact I'd consider it one of the better AV solutions free or pay out there period at the moment. (Forefront is great for the business side of things, but its essentially just MSE with management. So...)
__________________
We are shaped by fate, just as we shape it.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 09:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,596

My System Specs

Default

I go for Avira for free antivirus.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Gigabyte Z77-D3H, i5 3570K with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb 1600mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2012, 11:28 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default

I'm using MSE for my netbook. It doesn't take up much resource. On my desktop I use both Avast and MSE with realtime protection turned off for the MSE.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2012, 12:40 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 104
Default

Thanks guys, I think I'll go MSE + MalwareBytes then. But I still don't quite understand what MalwareBytes will do that MSE or any other anitivirus software won't do?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which anti virus for a netbook? yamawho O/S's, Drivers & General Software 15 January 11, 2011 09:28 AM
Anti-Virus - Do you run one? Which? zlojack O/S's, Drivers & General Software 111 February 22, 2010 09:34 PM
Microsoft Security Essentials Goes Public, Free Anti-Virus Software For All FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 41 October 7, 2009 10:07 AM
Which Anti-virus do you use Forge O/S's, Drivers & General Software 78 August 22, 2008 05:39 PM
eTrust Anti-Virus any good? Gav O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 March 19, 2007 09:41 PM