Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
View Poll Results: Do you turn on System Restore on C:/ SSD?
Turn ON 6 30.00%
Turn OFF 14 70.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 02:38 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default Do you turn on System Restore on C:/ SSD?

When I first got my SSD, I followed a optimization guide which includes this tech tip to turn off System Restore because writing to SSD will shorten its lifespan. But after a month of installation the SSD and Win7 I decided to turn it back on. I like the security of having a plan B and no one did a real test of this theory makes me think this so called tech tip is over rated.

So what's your preference?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 03:03 AM
Avenger212's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

I keep mine on because I already had 2 driver issue with my video card on a different rig. If it wasn't for that I would had nuke Win7 again. Yeah IMO your right to turn it back on
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 05:30 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,591

My System Specs

Default

I keep mine off because I have little to no actual important information stored just on my SSD. Any personal files, such as word documents and such are backed up to my home server. Any video games have their installers duplicate again on my home server (if it's steam it's just a copy, origin you can tell it to store an installer copy).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 06:39 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,334
Default

I keep it OFF....as I use Acronis. A Much....MUCH more capable backup and restore program than MS' "option".
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 09:07 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,608
Default

system restore is a waste of drive space and a great breeding ground for infections
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 09:49 AM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 864

My System Specs

Default

Mine is OFF. Since my SSD is not big, i need all the space.
__________________
• ► ›Main system
• ► › |I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
• ► ›Server system
• ► › |I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|RAID5 5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|

• ► ›Twitch
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 09:58 AM
francisw19's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 246
Default

Off here too since I image my SSDs regularly.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 12:31 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
I keep it OFF....as I use Acronis. A Much....MUCH more capable backup and restore program than MS' "option".
my plans too it just works too well
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 12:56 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

I delete/disable system restore, and use good 'ole ghost to image my partitions. Much cleaner than system restore.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 03:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: laval Qc
Posts: 1,072
Default

off
waste of space
__________________
maximus IV extreme @ 5.1 1.41v

evga e760 +920 4.8 water5.0+ on phase linx stable
gtx285 tri-sli
dfi ut-p35 lt
e8600@4.6 1.38v
too much ram
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SSD - How to restore using Win 7 Prolab Storage 3 November 28, 2011 11:48 PM
Restore Windows7 backup from SSD to HD bedouin Storage 1 May 10, 2010 03:28 PM
"Your CPU fan doesn't work properly. You must turn off your system right now and chec _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 March 15, 2010 02:38 PM
Windows 7 System Restore Messes Everything geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 July 21, 2009 03:52 PM
System restore won't work at all, vista 32 donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 January 6, 2008 06:35 AM