Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
View Poll Results: Do you turn on System Restore on C:/ SSD?
Turn ON 6 30.00%
Turn OFF 14 70.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 05:03 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

I am a loyal acronis user, but do have redundant backup's ;). Acronis / System Restore / Windows NT Backup
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 06:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 26
Default

I turn off system restore. I also disable virtual memory, hibernation, and recycle bin.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 06:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uberness View Post
I turn off system restore. I also disable virtual memory, hibernation, and recycle bin.
Virtual Memory is not recommended to turn off. The other turn go ahead.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 09:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default

It seems alot of you use Acronis, maybe I'll give it a try but the downside is I have to remember to back it up when installing new drivers and other stuff to c:
With System Restore I dont have to do anything, a much more convenient solution. I still have 65GB left in my c: which is a 120GB SSD so it's not likely fill up anytime soon.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 04:25 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,339
Default

Google "Acronis Non-Stop Backup". (Usually) No fuss. (Usually) No muss. It (usually) just protects everything not just your OS and does so (usually) without your knowing it. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 12:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default

downloaded the trial version, let see what it does...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New SSD - How to restore using Win 7 Prolab Storage 3 November 28, 2011 11:48 PM
Restore Windows7 backup from SSD to HD bedouin Storage 1 May 10, 2010 03:28 PM
"Your CPU fan doesn't work properly. You must turn off your system right now and chec _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 14 March 15, 2010 02:38 PM
Windows 7 System Restore Messes Everything geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 July 21, 2009 03:52 PM
System restore won't work at all, vista 32 donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 January 6, 2008 06:35 AM