Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
View Poll Results: Do you turn on System Restore on C:/ SSD?
Turn ON 6 30.00%
Turn OFF 14 70.00%
Voters: 20. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 05:03 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 829

My System Specs

Default

I am a loyal acronis user, but do have redundant backup's ;). Acronis / System Restore / Windows NT Backup
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 06:09 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 26
Default

I turn off system restore. I also disable virtual memory, hibernation, and recycle bin.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 06:48 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uberness View Post
I turn off system restore. I also disable virtual memory, hibernation, and recycle bin.
Virtual Memory is not recommended to turn off. The other turn go ahead.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2012, 09:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default

It seems alot of you use Acronis, maybe I'll give it a try but the downside is I have to remember to back it up when installing new drivers and other stuff to c:
With System Restore I dont have to do anything, a much more convenient solution. I still have 65GB left in my c: which is a 120GB SSD so it's not likely fill up anytime soon.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 04:25 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,676
Default

Google "Acronis Non-Stop Backup". (Usually) No fuss. (Usually) No muss. It (usually) just protects everything not just your OS and does so (usually) without your knowing it. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2012, 12:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 57
Default

downloaded the trial version, let see what it does...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Your CPU fan doesn't work properly. You must turn off your system right now and chec _dangtx_ HardwareCanucks F@H Team 17 December 17, 2015 10:01 AM
New SSD - How to restore using Win 7 Prolab Storage 3 November 29, 2011 12:48 AM
Restore Windows7 backup from SSD to HD bedouin Storage 1 May 10, 2010 03:28 PM
Windows 7 System Restore Messes Everything geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 July 21, 2009 03:52 PM
System restore won't work at all, vista 32 donimo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 January 6, 2008 07:35 AM