Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 07:04 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default Norton 360 - Disables Itself - POS

360 has started disabling the auto protect feature a few minutes after boot up. Spent yesterday morning and this morning in a chat room with Symantec Support. Fixed it both times, but if it happens again, I'll be checking out AVG regardless of the fact that I just renewed my subscription. $60 down the tubes, I'm thinking.
__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 07:39 AM
Galaad97's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Piedmont
Posts: 23
Default

Personally, I've been living a happy life since the day me and my relatives started staying away from Norton. (Well It wasnt so bad, Many years ago.. Just like Netscape was good too at one point I guess)... From what I've experienced AVG tends to report a lot of 'false positive' and isnt the most efficient..although its not bad. NOD32 and Kaspersky would be good alternative in my opinion... They dont use up much ressource and tend to be very efficient. Been using those on various systems for a few years now...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 10:08 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Norton sucks and AVG RULES! Go for it!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 10:49 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Don't forget to use the "get rid of all norton crap" app for uninstalling it. Norton leaves a lot of crap behind which can only be removed by running it.

I've never had a problem with AVG (and that's from a household with 2 teenager owned/operated computers), although lately I've noticed that they've started opening an IE window once a week or so to suggest an upgrade to the paid service.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 11:10 AM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

AVG have been hit and miss for me. I'll tell it to scan an exe and it'll tell me it's safe. Once I run it though, it tells me there's an infection in memory. And of course, it fails to clean out infections properly.

I guess you're getting what you can expect from a free app. And I get what I deserve for running crack.exe. But that's why I image my HD before I do anything dangerous like that.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 11:17 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewguy001 View Post
AVG have been hit and miss for me. I'll tell it to scan an exe and it'll tell me it's safe. Once I run it though, it tells me there's an infection in memory. And of course, it fails to clean out infections properly.

I guess you're getting what you can expect from a free app. And I get what I deserve for running crack.exe. But that's why I image my HD before I do anything dangerous like that.
Heh..... that's why my kids got their own computers when they were old enough to use them....

Standard rule in this household has always been...."if you want to install something on your computer, go right ahead, but if you pick up some nasties because of it, don't expect me to jump right into getting your MSN back... I'll get to it when I have a chance...."

Never had any real problems with their computers......
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 01:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 49
Default

I'd suggest Kaspersky if your going to pay for something,small footprint and has worked great for everything i've ever thrown at it. Kids computers are about as hostile an enviroment as you can get in my experiance .
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 01:34 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Free: AVG hands down.
Paid: NOD32.

Never had issues with both - AVG personally for years, NOD32 for my customers.

And get rid of Norton quick.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 01:52 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Wow that's STILL an issue after all these years... pffft??? I had Norton years ago and that's what it did to me on almost a daily basis.

If you are looking for full security suites:
Kaspersky IS7
Eset Smart Security (it's the full internet security suite for NOD 32)

Or you can just get the AV versions:
Kaspersky AV
NOD 32

Both companies products are very highly rated and work very well. Often NCIX or FS has Kaspersky IS7 on for ~$25 on sale. Or you can buy 3 licenses for $50 from the Kas site IIRC.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2008, 03:26 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default Norton D...U...N...DUN!

Had enough of this BS. Running Avast for now with Sygate Firewall. Will likely try them all before I'm done. Well not quite all, that's one of the reasons why I read this forum. To learn from all my fine friends here. Thanks a lot.
__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes