Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 10, 2012, 12:52 PM
Rookie

Default Exit Windows Vista setup safely after partitioning?

Hello,

I'm about to install Windows 7 on brandnew computer with a 500GB hard drive. I would like to avoid the dreaded 200mb system recovery partition as I will never use bitlocker or the Windows 7 recovery, backup stuff stored on the partition. I was told to avoid this I would need to create my partitions with a Windows Vista DVD and then exit setup after I've partitioned. I've got no experience with Vista and I don't know how you would exit setup safely after you've finished partitioning. I know in Windows XP it's press F3 twice but not sure about Vista as I skipped it and stayed with XP. I was told another way is to create the partitions in Diskpart but I rather not go back to the Windows 98 of doing things.
Old May 10, 2012, 04:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

The "System Reserved Partition" that you speak of only gets created if the drive is empty. That said, after the Vista installer says the partition is created, you can pretty much close the installer any way you like. The graphical installer has an "X" button like any Windows program that should restart the computer after a bunch of prompts, or you can even use the reset or power button on your computer case.

You say the drive is blank anyway, so there's no chance of you corrupting it. If you want, when you go back to the Windows 7 installer, you can reformat the partition (do not delete it!) and then install to it without having to create the system reserved partition.

General tip: However you play with the install, make sure that 500GB hard disk is the ONLY drive plugged in when you're installing. Having other drives or USB sticks has a way of breaking Windows installs with the bootloader going into strange places.

Last edited by frontier204; May 10, 2012 at 04:58 PM. Reason: clarify