Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2012, 10:53 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default HTML link

Want to put a link on my webpage that links to an External HDD/Folder/Files...

Using HTML, little help?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2012, 11:44 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Is this page going to be accessed locally only, are you running a httpd on the webpage etc.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2012, 11:48 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,566

My System Specs

Default

Mapping URLs to Filesystem Locations - Apache HTTP Server

If you're running apache...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2012, 02:00 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
running a httpd on the webpage etc.
Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post
Thank you, yes it's on apache. I want a link to a drive that has multiple media files, purpose is to list files, not make available for DL.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2012, 03:21 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,566

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Quicken View Post
Thank you, yes it's on apache. I want a link to a drive that has multiple media files, purpose is to list files, not make available for DL.
Well you still haven't specified if your running Linux or Windows, but assuming it's Linux you could host a text file on the server and just have any files located in a specified folder appended to the text file.

You'd have to setup a script file with something like
Quote:
ls -al | grep {print 4$} > /var/httpd/www/filelist.txt
The grep part you'd have to change to whatever fields you want displayed in the text file, or if you want all information in there just take out the grep part. Make sure to change the file to executable and then you could also setup a cron job to have the script run every 15 minutes or so.

If you're running windows, you could do something similar but I'm not sure how you would go about that off the top of my head.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2012, 11:28 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by headsh0t View Post

If you're running windows, you could do something similar but I'm not sure how you would go about that off the top of my head.

...crap.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 10:57 AM
NyteOwl's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 905
Default

dir /path-to files/* > /var/httpd/www/filelist.txt

see dir /? for optional parameters for dir
__________________
Obsolescence is just a lack of imagination.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 12:02 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,566

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteOwl View Post
dir /path-to files/* > /var/httpd/www/filelist.txt

see dir /? for optional parameters for dir
Alright I did a little research on your behalf Quicken and you could accomplish the same thing I was talking about in linux on Windows by using something similar to this command from NyteOwl.

You want to creatch a batch file or CMD file or whatever you want. To do that open text editor and throw this in:

Quote:
@echo off
dir C:\TEST\ > C:\TEST2\test.txt
Then save the file as "whatever.bat". Then to have it run automatically you can use Windows's Task Scheduler and set it to run daily. Once you've setup the Task, you can go into properties and have it repeat every hour if you want. If you want the batch file to list files in Sub-directories then just add /s after dir.

If you need any more help Google is your friend and I also just pulled this up really quick and read it over: The Command Line in Windows: Batch file basics
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2012, 11:13 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your help guys, I appreciate it!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2012, 07:44 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Finally had time to sit down use this, created numerous batch files, modded them and attached links to my webpage--always fun learning something new!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TP-Link ? botat29 Networking 3 April 4, 2011 03:52 PM
Problems with Telus' D-Link D-link DVA G3810BN - extra router? chartkor Networking 8 January 3, 2011 11:55 PM
I need a link to this. Spikemaul HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 November 17, 2009 01:14 PM
HTML code help. chibi_man Off Topic 7 January 29, 2009 12:41 PM
Any workarounds, hacks or programs available for HTML posting or similar effect? qwerty Troubleshooting 0 December 9, 2007 02:44 PM