Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 10:55 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default Shrink Partition to allow Dual-boot

So when I set up my current Vista 64 system, I didn't think ahead. I want to shrink my partition in order to set up a dual boot Vista/Xubuntu system.

Any suggestions how to accomplish this?

Thanks,
Gord
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 12:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

not sure if partition magic has problems with x64, but if not thats the one i would try. I tried using Linux to change the vista partition and ended up deleting it in the end (it was a pretty new install anyway so i didnt mind losing it)
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 05:13 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Thanks, I'll look into it to see if it will play nice with Vista 64. I'm not willing to wipe the system and start over, at least not yet.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 06:34 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Acronis Disc Director Suite supports Vista 64. You might want to do a bit more reading for confirmation or just download the free trial. I use it on XP 32 and it works perfectly.

Vista 64bit: Will ADDS work? - Wilders Security Forums

Even helped me solve my MFT problem without a hitch.

Why such a huge MFT on my C: drive?
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 29, 2008, 07:31 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Thanks T-ball , Partition Magic does have issues with Vista 64. I'll try Acronis next.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 09:58 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Apparently, Vista has a native partition manager. I just used it.

Excellent tutorial here:

Disk Management - Shrink Partition - Vista Forums

Whoops. Should have google'd before I started this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 01:42 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Cool, had no idea you could shrink or create partitions from within Vista. Anything other than that though you'd have to use something else. But nonetheless... still good to know. Good job.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 02:39 PM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 200

My System Specs

Default

When I first got vista I tried to shrink and redo my partition to put in XP with Partition Magic and ended up having to re-install. I now have Acronis but was too gun shy to attempt it. I knew about that but didn't have that direct link to exactly how to. Thanks SugarJ. I may get up the nerve to try again since I recenly tried a live CD of Kubuntu 8.04 and it was really nice...
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 03:22 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: AB
Posts: 1,212
Default

ah good to know about that in vista thanks bro.
__________________

vista 64 on these rigs
Q9450 @ 3.5Ghz | E8400 @ 4.2Ghz
8gb Muskin Redline. | 2gb Kingston Hyperx
________________________________|_________________ ______________
EVGA 780i FTW ----\--||___||--/---- EVGA 780i SLI
Antec TP Quatro 1000W \ :==^==: / Antec TP Quatro 850W.
Nvidia 9800 GX2 X 2 SLI \|--o--|/ Nvidia 8800 GTS X 2 SLI
1X 500GB Western Digital. \_____/ 3X 150GB WD RAPTOR RAID-0
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 30, 2008, 08:35 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Make sure you use a defragger like JKDefrag that moves the files to the front of the disk, otherwise they may be scattered and limit the size of partition shrink.

Thanks to Thunderball for turning me onto that program, BTW.

My next problem is Xubuntu 7.10 keeps rebooting my PC, even at stock frequencies. Goes to loading live kernel something, then pukes. Sigh.

Off to try Ubuntu now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes