Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2012, 10:33 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default is there a way to run 50+ Virtual OS's at once ?

I am wondering if there is a way to launch 50 Virtualbox Operating systems with one script instead of having to click on every single virtual OS to start it up.
I have been searching around Off and on for a week and have not found a way to do this .
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2012, 04:25 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,037

My System Specs

Default

batch file with a wait statement?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2012, 04:34 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 951
Default

I believe VMWare allows you to do this but I have no clue on Virtualbox. Good luck.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2012, 05:16 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

I don't have a clue on how to make a bat file load up anything never mind a bunch of VMs . VMware allows you to do that , how ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2012, 06:07 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,882

My System Specs

Default

If this is server-class hardware, you could run VMware ESXi or MS Hyper-V. Both are lightweight hypervisors designed specifically for hosting numerous VMs. Far more efficient than using VirtualBox.

And either product should support auto-startup with delays in between to prevent resource contention.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 07:42 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

don't forget citrix zen server (or is it xen)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2012, 09:47 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 607
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
If this is server-class hardware, you could run VMware ESXi or MS Hyper-V. Both are lightweight hypervisors designed specifically for hosting numerous VMs. Far more efficient than using VirtualBox.

And either product should support auto-startup with delays in between to prevent resource contention.
ESXi does let you configure which Virtual Machines will auto start on boot with set priorities. I don't know about the Citrix equivalent as I didn't test it much.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
don't forget citrix zen server (or is it xen)
It's Xen but I pronounce it the way you spelled it.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 06:22 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 205

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterd View Post
ESXi does let you configure which Virtual Machines will auto start on boot with set priorities. I don't know about the Citrix equivalent as I didn't test it much.

It's Xen but I pronounce it the way you spelled it.
Same feature applies to Hyper-V.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 07:10 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 531

My System Specs

Default

I have had bad luck testing Xen Server, I use other citrix products but vmware has the best vm platform in my opinion. Nice auto boot with delays and shut down with delays. I hope you have those 50 VMs hosted across a bunch of servers, 50 on one server even if its a quad socket is asking for trouble if this is production setup.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 07:16 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueByte View Post
I hope you have those 50 VMs hosted across a bunch of servers, 50 on one server even if its a quad socket is asking for trouble if this is production setup.
I hope it's not production, the OP is using VirtualBox.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
YOu are using VM ( Virtual Machine) for ? botat29 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 April 3, 2011 01:16 PM
Virtual PC botat29 New Builds 6 March 31, 2011 07:18 AM
HD for Virtual drive botat29 Storage 12 February 7, 2011 07:49 PM
Virtual Forum Toyoracer Suggestions & Feedback 2 April 18, 2010 07:16 PM
Virtual Box 3.0 Beta 1 enaberif O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 June 18, 2009 12:57 PM