Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 04:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default Ubuntu - won't instal

Have a q6600 in a 680i mobo with 2g of Crucial Ballistic PC2- 6400 ram in an Antec 900 case, 2 500g Seagate SATA hdd's Vid card is GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog Edition. It has an OCZ 750w psu. Currently the ram is locked to 1T and is at 4-4-4-12. Multiplier is 8, FSB is at 1828.552 mhz, CPU is at 3657.039 mhz, Memory 914.280 (DDR2) mhz. Its running Windows XP Pro SP3. Every time I try to instal Ubuntu v7.10 64 bit Desktop version it goes to the instal area , loads the kernel then just does nothing. Black screen. I want to make it a dual boot. One of the hdd is not assigned and I was hoping it would find it and instal there. Any ideas on where I've gone wrong ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 05:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,704

My System Specs

Default

Try it at stock.

Could be you've got a slight instability (memory more than likely) that's not apparent under XP, or some high-mem issue that only rears its head during installation. (If I were to change just one setting, it'd be the 1t).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 05:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks, will give that a go.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 06:18 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Linux can be A LOT more sensitive to a bad or instable system than Windows is.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes