Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 03:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default Ubuntu - won't instal

Have a q6600 in a 680i mobo with 2g of Crucial Ballistic PC2- 6400 ram in an Antec 900 case, 2 500g Seagate SATA hdd's Vid card is GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog Edition. It has an OCZ 750w psu. Currently the ram is locked to 1T and is at 4-4-4-12. Multiplier is 8, FSB is at 1828.552 mhz, CPU is at 3657.039 mhz, Memory 914.280 (DDR2) mhz. Its running Windows XP Pro SP3. Every time I try to instal Ubuntu v7.10 64 bit Desktop version it goes to the instal area , loads the kernel then just does nothing. Black screen. I want to make it a dual boot. One of the hdd is not assigned and I was hoping it would find it and instal there. Any ideas on where I've gone wrong ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 04:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,223

My System Specs

Default

Try it at stock.

Could be you've got a slight instability (memory more than likely) that's not apparent under XP, or some high-mem issue that only rears its head during installation. (If I were to change just one setting, it'd be the 1t).
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 04:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks, will give that a go.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 05:18 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Linux can be A LOT more sensitive to a bad or instable system than Windows is.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes