Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 06:05 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,467

My System Specs

Default

I just settled in with Windows 7. Why give myself a headache with an OS that has an UI built for dumb people?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 10:33 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

I saw something in my tech net subcriptions but haven't done anything as yet.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 11:22 AM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

Played with it a little over the weekend, trying to see how it did in benchmarks.

Good news, superpi 1m and wprime 32m were both faster than windows 7

Bad news, cpu-z froze the system, error-ed, or showed no/wrong info. Also tried to run Heaven & Vantage with no success
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 12:53 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

WHY M$ simply don't offer it like this

Windows 8 app to bring back Start menu on desktop - Neowin.net
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 12:59 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by botat29 View Post
Good on them but seriously Microsoft just needs to quit changing shit around.
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 01:16 PM
Jebusman's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 358

My System Specs

Default

Holy ****. Why didn't I think of this. Start making paid apps that replace basic functionality to Win8 that M$ took away!

I don't care how dirty it would be, I'd make off like a bandit.

Edit: Perfect timing. I'm losing my job! I can spend a bunch of time figuring out what M$ left out, and start throwing together random shit to replace it for $1!
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 01:28 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Good on them but seriously Microsoft just needs to quit changing shit around.
You are Dam right, Windows 7 work fine, I love some new features like the ISO mount of the 8 , but this can have been include in a service pack. This Metro thing should be an Addon, so peoples who want to have their OS like their phone can install it. And why they have to bring this Metro BS to the servers too, I don't know anyone who will run Windows 8 server on a phone...
Please note that I will not install this app, it's just to show how M$ should have done it.
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 02:03 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Ars has quite a good write-up of the current status of Win8: 2-for-1: Can Windows 8 satisfy both the desktop and the tablet?

Of things they touch on, the problematic hot corners with multimonitor systems seems like the biggest problem for me.
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 02:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,580
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars View Post
Ars has quite a good write-up of the current status of Win8: 2-for-1: Can Windows 8 satisfy both the desktop and the tablet?

Of things they touch on, the problematic hot corners with multimonitor systems seems like the biggest problem for me.
Exactly its not a desktop friendly OS. You'll need a 8000DPI mouse to work efficiently with this OS
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2012, 02:24 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Well, I'm expecting some sort of fix for the hot corners before the RTM, it would be really bizarre to have all the taskbar improvements for multiple monitors while leaving the hot corners as they are.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing windows 7 on SSD mardig88 Storage 5 January 5, 2012 07:03 PM
PC freezes while installing Windows 7 Bryan G CPU's and Motherboards 14 July 8, 2011 11:30 PM
Error installing Windows 7 Waldie O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 March 1, 2010 08:15 AM
Any benefits of installing Windows 7 64 bit vs 32 bit? HoTiCE_ O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 November 5, 2009 04:35 AM
Installing Windows Vista.... Supergrover Off Topic 6 June 26, 2007 02:31 PM