Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #101 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2012, 11:06 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 492
Default

You can hit enter instead of sliding to unlock.

I assume it's possible to automatically login, isn't a password default in Windows since several versions now?
Reply With Quote
  #102 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 12:25 AM
TokeR's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Thanks that is better, but doing anything to get by it seems pointless as it serves no purpose on a desktop.

Nope I've never used a password on my desktop only laptops and other portable things.
Reply With Quote
  #103 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 03:36 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TokeR View Post
. I'm sure there are ways to get rid of these things though especially the "Slide to unlock" that feels ridiculous.
That's fell like a phone
Reply With Quote
  #104 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 04:47 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,869

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TokeR View Post
I am currently using the consumer preview. I like some things but I dislike a lot of things but hopefully after a week or so I will get used to them. If not then I suppose I won't like Windows 8. I don't like how it feels like it is designed to be used with touchscreen devices which I suppose it is.

Most annoying things for me at the moment are 1. Having to "Slide to unlock" to get to the login page when windows boots up. 2. Having to log in to my email to get into windows.. I don't normally use a password on my desktop. I'm sure there are ways to get rid of these things though especially the "Slide to unlock" that feels ridiculous.
1. Crtl+Alt+Delete - just like you would logging into a domain computer. It's basically just a prettier version of the boring "Press Ctrl+Alt+Delete to Login".

2. You didn't have to login with your Microsoft ID, there's the option to create an offline account as well. Though obviously the Store and some apps won't work without it. I think it always needs a password though, not sure.
Reply With Quote
  #105 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 06:26 AM
TokeR's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Thanks JD, appreciate it but ctrl+alt+del doesn't work in this case I presume because I made a online account (thinking it was my only choice) so I need to enter a password to get in. Really my main issues are just the drag to unlock and being forced to enter a password to get to desktop. And the missing start button but thanks to your link it that is sorted. Thanks for that by the way.

..Maybe I'm just a dinosaur!
Reply With Quote
  #106 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 10:10 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
2. You didn't have to login with your Microsoft ID, there's the option to create an offline account as well. Though obviously the Store and some apps won't work without it. I think it always needs a password though, not sure.
Waitwaitwait
What exactly happens with an online account? I presume that they do not lock you out if you do not have an active internet connection but just how much does it call home and tell MS what you are up to?
Can you switch an account between online and offline?

imo there should be no such thing as an online account. THIS IS YOUR LOCAL PERSONAL COMPUTER! Not a terminal. It should only use the internet when the user tells it to!

Screw you Microsoft.
Screw you Apple.

Stop horribly maiming my computing environment and experience with this miserable bull shit.
Reply With Quote
  #107 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 10:20 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 492
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
What exactly happens with an online account?
Saves your settings and such. Integrates your contacts into the appropriate applications.

Basically the same as how accounts for ios/android/wp7 work.

I don't see much of a problem if it's optional.
Reply With Quote
  #108 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 10:33 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Optional... it asks your email address at install and I don't notice other option when you install, after yes.
Reply With Quote
  #109 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 03:41 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,869

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TokeR View Post
Thanks JD, appreciate it but ctrl+alt+del doesn't work in this case I presume because I made a online account (thinking it was my only choice) so I need to enter a password to get in. Really my main issues are just the drag to unlock and being forced to enter a password to get to desktop. And the missing start button but thanks to your link it that is sorted. Thanks for that by the way.

..Maybe I'm just a dinosaur!
Really? It should at least bring you to the password prompt. Maybe it's because mines joined to my domain, though I have group policies to bypass the ctrl-alt-delete screen.

Does "control userpasswords2" work in Windows 8 from the run prompt?
Reply With Quote
  #110 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2012, 03:47 PM
G777's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Coquitlam,BC
Posts: 541

My System Specs

Default

I case no one has posted this, to skip the password logon:

"Start Windows 8 and log in to your account
Now you will be taken to the MetroUI start screen. Hit "WIN + R" or goto search from the new Start Menu. Type "netplwiz" in the search bar and hit Enter to open User Accounts screen.
Now you should uncheck "Users must enter a user name and password to use this computer" check box and click the OK button
Now you will get a prompt where you have to enter the password for the user name. Enter the password and password confirmation.
Windows 8 will save this password and you need not enter the password any more during login. So the next time your system starts or reboots, you will be directly logged into the system without any need to enter the password."
__________________
_______________________________________________

HWC Overclocking Team, breaking hardware for fun!

Team Thread
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing windows 7 on SSD mardig88 Storage 5 January 5, 2012 07:03 PM
PC freezes while installing Windows 7 Bryan G CPU's and Motherboards 14 July 8, 2011 11:30 PM
Error installing Windows 7 Waldie O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 March 1, 2010 08:15 AM
Any benefits of installing Windows 7 64 bit vs 32 bit? HoTiCE_ O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 November 5, 2009 04:35 AM
Installing Windows Vista.... Supergrover Off Topic 6 June 26, 2007 02:31 PM