Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 01:04 PM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default windows 7 strange problem after running CCleaner

Hey all.

Strange problem here.

Computer is running windows 7 home edition, and my little bro decided to run Spybot S&D and also CCleaner because he felt it was running slowly. After having run both programs and rebooting, all icons (spare a few ones here and there) have been replaced with blank white placeholder icons. Furthermore, in attempting to open a few different things I was given the following red X errors:

-'Computer' -- "the parameter is incorrect"
-'Control Panel' -- "This file does not have a program associated with it for performance of this action. Please install a program or create an association in the default programs control panel"
-'explorer.exe' -- "This file does not have a program associated with it for performance of this action. Please install a program or create an association in the default programs control panel"

Further to this, I was able to access the files of this computer via network from my laptop (to back up the files i needed).

Any ideas as to what went wrong? and better yet, how can I fix this atrocity? I suspect that CCleaner was not run correctly or interrupted before it could finish.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 01:51 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,828
Default

Or one of those programs could have found and cleaned a virus/malware. I've seen this before where a program replaces the shell command that runs exe's in windows from explorer.exe to their viral package. The antivirus cleans it out and you are left like this. Windows does not know what to do with .exe .msc files etc..

google how to restore explorer.exe as the windows shell.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 02:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

haha yeah it sounds like you had a virus in there that was re-routing all your .exes through it. Can't blame CCleaner for this one ;)

you need to install a registry fix from here - http://www.winhelponline.com/fileasso/exefix_vista.zip
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 02:39 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,312

My System Specs

Default

IS everything that was removed still in the trashcan because it seems to me like the icons were erased which would give you allot of problems.
or did he back up everything before he or she did everything?
if you have systekm restore you could always just restore it to sa previous date
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 04:03 PM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

system restore isn't an option until i apply the necessary registry fixes -- but I might as well do a clean install of windows anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 04:19 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,924
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Socrates_Johnston View Post
system restore isn't an option until i apply the necessary registry fixes -- but I might as well do a clean install of windows anyways.

before that, collect all updated OS hardware WHQL drivers and chipset for F6 option, burn to a disk/stik

check bios version also then install OS and have updates ready

once all installed and updates applyed. save a restore point and any time before any questional software so if messes up can go back

Last edited by KaptCrunch; February 22, 2012 at 04:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 07:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 57

My System Specs

Default

LMAO... who still uses Spybot S&D?!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 22, 2012, 10:46 PM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassic1024 View Post
LMAO... who still uses Spybot S&D?!
FYI, I've been using CCleaner for almost 2 years (I also put it on any PC I touch) and have never had a issue related to CCleaner.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 06:36 AM
Socrates_Johnston's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 284

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jurassic1024 View Post
LMAO... who still uses Spybot S&D?!
recommend a better alternative?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2012, 08:21 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Malwarebytes.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Keyboard problem with keyboards Sneblot Peripherals 4 May 31, 2011 01:15 PM
Strange motherboard problem krajee Troubleshooting 2 July 30, 2010 02:48 PM
Strange problem Charmster Troubleshooting 7 July 3, 2010 06:13 AM
Strange power up problem jack2006 Troubleshooting 1 September 4, 2009 09:47 AM
uh...strange problem?.. omgwtf Troubleshooting 17 December 20, 2007 02:34 PM