Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 05:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Default Can't play HD mkv files?

Whenever i try to watch bluray mkv-s, in VLC the video resets at some point, and the timeline doesnt work correctly.
In other programs the video freezes after 1sec and only the audio track continues.
I have CCCP.
What should i do?
GSpot cant help either, says Unknown.

Last edited by Dx10fly; February 9, 2012 at 10:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 05:43 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 199
Default

get the mkinfo and see if there is header compression..

if there is, try to use wdclean to remove the compression and it should fix your problem

-joe
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 05:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Sorry i cant find a place where to download mkvinfo*.
mkvinfo -- Print information about elements in Matroska files
This page only has what you can see.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 06:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Default

EDIT: Ok nvm i downloaded it, but when i launch mkvinfo.exe, the com window just flashes on my screen and nothing happens.
And what is wdclean? Google doesnt find such a thing.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 06:07 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 951
Default

If you scroll down to the bottom of the page you will see the link to bring you to the download page.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 06:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodscene View Post
If you scroll down to the bottom of the page you will see the link to bring you to the download page.
Surpassed that obstacle already but thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 06:21 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 199
Default

mkvtoolnix -- Matroska tools for Linux/Unix and Windows

mkclean tool | Matroska

mkclean contains both mkclean and mkwdclean

use wdclean to remove compression

-joe
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 06:26 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtktam View Post
mkvtoolnix -- Matroska tools for Linux/Unix and Windows

mkclean tool | Matroska

mkclean contains both mkclean and mkwdclean

use wdclean to remove compression

-joe
The Mkclean tool also spawns a com window for 0.5sec and then disappears, what am i supposed to do? This happens with both mkvtool and mkclean.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 08:49 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 24
Default

Really? No answers on THIS? I dont know if its me being a noob but you gave me 2 programs which i cant get to work, so im in sort of a pickle here?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 9, 2012, 11:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dx10fly View Post
The Mkclean tool also spawns a com window for 0.5sec and then disappears, what am i supposed to do? This happens with both mkvtool and mkclean.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dx10fly View Post
Really? No answers on THIS? I dont know if its me being a noob but you gave me 2 programs which i cant get to work, so im in sort of a pickle here?
srsly .. 6am and 8am is only two hours apart

some of us actually have other things to do

it's a command line program.. so go to your command prompt, type it in and see what error it gives you

i would guess that you have spaces in your directory or file name

-joe
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choppy play over network with HD *.mkv files Inate8 HTPC Systems & Software 29 December 18, 2011 09:47 PM
Disable dmz, cant play Uncharted. Enable dmz, cant play Tekken hohohee Gaming 3 December 4, 2011 12:17 PM
.rar files SGardiner O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 July 7, 2011 04:05 AM
X-Files Blu Off Topic 15 May 26, 2011 05:57 PM
all .mkv files on my PC and WD TV media play very low volume Shadowmeph Off Topic 19 August 22, 2010 08:36 PM