Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2008, 08:13 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default AV Networking question....

I am interested in removing antivirus software from my laptop (to help speed it up). I was thinking that if I did this, I could run my internet in to my faster desktop (with 2 antivirus programs installed as well as one or two of spyware programs) and then out to my router, and onto my laptop.

How safe would this be?


Thanks in advance for the help.



Matty
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2008, 08:29 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

AV software shouldn't slow down your laptop...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2008, 08:30 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattydies View Post
I am interested in removing antivirus software from my laptop (to help speed it up). I was thinking that if I did this, I could run my internet in to my faster desktop (with 2 antivirus programs installed as well as one or two of spyware programs) and then out to my router, and onto my laptop.

How safe would this be?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Matty
Get rid of Norton and install Avast.

Don't bother with a firewall as you have the router.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2008, 12:47 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default

The computer came with Norton AV but the updates expired. I installed Anti-vir and uninstalled Norton. Anti-vir seems much to use far less resources than Norton

I think I could use more than 512 Ram, and it does not help that my desktop is FAR faster than my laptop. I will disable windows fire wall and perhaps one day I will do a fresh installed of Windows XP.


Thanks for the help guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI question gimark Video Cards 3 February 7, 2008 09:54 AM
RAM question Salavat23 RAM 18 December 24, 2007 08:31 AM
SLI Question mattydies Video Cards 2 October 3, 2007 07:59 AM
new at networking....... rob123 Networking 6 October 1, 2007 11:18 PM
p35 question Jim CPU's and Motherboards 6 August 28, 2007 03:44 PM