Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 10:03 AM
JoshOohAh's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto Area
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default Certain programs don't work after installing a soundcard

So they other day an Auzentech soundcard for my computer. Did the install off the disc. My intention was to go on the website after and update but as soon as I tried, my internet browsers stopped working. I mean I have a connection to the internet and Steam works and I can view their store and stuff but for some reason my browsers aren't working. I also know Audacity isn't working. As of now that's all I can find that is not working.

If this is of any importance, when I booted my computer after installing the card, my entire bios got cleared. I just went to my Asus profiles and loaded the one I had saved. When I got into the o.s. my time was screwed up (which I'm assuming was related to the bios). I just went to my settings and told it to get the correct time from the internet which worked without an issue.

Any suggestions?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 03:03 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 385

My System Specs

Default

well Auzentech uses moded creative drivers, creative has a bad habit of using IRQ associated with other things, such as realtek lan and audio hardware/software.

if the browser is crashing, try hitting the little compatibility button in the top right of IE, another thing you can try is to fully disable the onboard sound, you can do this through control panel or you can also use Ccleaner to disable things/clean registry this may help, and also running the Auzentech stuff with admin privaleges.

Sounds strange, but then again, nothing is anything but impossible, especially when dealing with creative :P

Now I also know you can make sure to set the sound card as a default device, and set it up with different default formats for the sound, of this is set to high, example 96Khz this might cause an issue, and you want to set whatever youre mic/speakers are with the enable applications to take exclusive control checkmark turned off, to find these options, right click the little speaker icon on dektop, go to recording or playback device.

The default format is under properties for whatever you are trying to change, example for me Microphone connected to asus xonar DX set to default recording device, when I go to the properties of this, under the advance options tab, the deefault format is the drop box at the top of this, I have mine set as high as it goes, and the 2 boxes that can be checkmarked are unchecked. hopefully this helps
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 03:32 PM
JoshOohAh's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto Area
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the advice. I tried all your steps and really just from reading everything you said, it became clear that it's a software issue with it's stupid drivers. I just uninstalled the drivers completely and rebooted and it worked. I am going to try and get the newest ones off their website, I hope this problem will be fixed. Thanks for the input. I appreciate it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 03:37 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Auzentech cards have great sound qualities, but since they use modded Creative drivers, I had to switch to Asus... unless you are willing to use Daniel K.'s modded drivers.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=327083
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2012, 04:54 PM
JoshOohAh's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto Area
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Auzentech cards have great sound qualities, but since they use modded Creative drivers, I had to switch to Asus... unless you are willing to use Daniel K.'s modded drivers.

http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=327083
Great :)! Thanks. Definitely something to consider if I have the same problem again after installing the drivers.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing an old soundcard on a new board? TokeR Audio 20 September 15, 2010 01:32 PM
prevent standard user account from installing programs freaked O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 June 21, 2010 07:47 AM
Which programs to put on SSD ?? Dan Storage 4 April 30, 2010 12:54 PM
Programs for Win 7 32 or 64 bit? GMJim O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 January 22, 2010 05:28 PM
Seeking advice on multiple soundcard build / Will it work? Ironmonk Troubleshooting 3 December 12, 2008 12:46 PM