Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 02:51 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,654

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chubs View Post
So I am not an IT pro thus please excuse my dumb question. If I was to get the standard subscription would that allow me to install Win7 and MS Office full legit copies on all 3 computers in the house? And if so and I buy the subscription, which I assume is for 1 year, and install the software then do not renew the following year does that mean my copies are no longer valid? Because I would gladly spend 200$ to buy 3 full copies of 64bit Home Premium let alone Ultimate and MS Office.

PS this would only be for household use no business use at all.
Not a dumb question at all. I bought the subscription last year, exactly for the same purpose you mention. Since then I have not renewed the subscription, and the keys still work - even the unused ones.

Get ready to have a boatload of keys, for most of MS's OSs and apps. It's a great deal.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2012, 04:31 PM
Chubs's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia
Posts: 40

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Not a dumb question at all. I bought the subscription last year, exactly for the same purpose you mention. Since then I have not renewed the subscription, and the keys still work - even the unused ones.

Get ready to have a boatload of keys, for most of MS's OSs and apps. It's a great deal.

Great thanks that solves that question, cheapest way to get all the software I want on all the comps for the house.
__________________
Gaming Rig

Corsair 600TM, Corsair TX-950, ASRock Z77 Extreme4, Core i5-2500k, Corsair H60, 4X4G Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600, Dual Gigabyte GTX-780 OC Rev2, Seagate 600 240G SSD, 3X WD Caviar Black 1TB, ASUS DVD, Windows 8.1 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2012, 04:52 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

Another Tech Net vote even the subscription at the $200 ish cdn level is very good tons of of stuff and office flavours to load to for word etc.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2012, 12:14 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 428

My System Specs

Default

Why not download Windows 8 (consumer trial, I think), and use.it for free for now. I have it dual boot on my Vaio notebook which has Vista. Most of the things work except for some drivers special to Vaio
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2012, 09:04 AM
howpet's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Peterborough On
Posts: 255

My System Specs

Default

About the cheapest you'll find:
Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit OEM English - Microsoft
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote desktop issues (Win7 pro to Vista Home Premium) Varroa Networking 13 September 20, 2013 10:34 AM
Windows 7 Premium x64 - Click-hold open? Modus O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 March 30, 2011 01:23 PM
Vista 64 home premium and 6G or 8G of ram? Gameplaywarrior O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 March 6, 2009 04:55 PM
WTS Vista Home Premium 32bit odis172 Buy/Sell & Trade 8 October 20, 2008 07:10 PM