Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 08:31 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default Where is the rest of my HDD

I am putting together my new rig tonight and installed Windows XP Pro.

For this installation I partitioned 50g of my Raptor 150g and installed the OS on the 50 Gig portion.

I expected to see my C Drive with 50gig and my D drive with 100g.

However, my D drive is my CD/DVD and my other 100g is missing in cyber world.

What did I do wrong and do I need to start over with a fresh install to get it back?
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 08:36 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

You need to format the 100Gb partition in order for Windows to see it.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 08:38 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Do I do that with the Windows CD?
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 08:40 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Also, should I install Mobo drivers and updates 1st or Windows Updates first?
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 08:45 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

No; right-click My computer, select Manage - then in the new window select Disk management. Then right-click the unformatted partition and select Format.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 08:48 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CasheKicker View Post
Also, should I install Mobo drivers and updates 1st or Windows Updates first?
Board drivers are always first - then Windows Update. Otherwise Windows Update can't connect to the Internet, since the NIC drivers are installed by the board drivers using the board's CD/DVD.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 08:51 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Sweet thanks for the speedy reply, One last question,

I have read about making a sperate partition for a paging file to enhance performance. True? If so how much with 4 Gig of Ram on board?
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 08:58 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,953

My System Specs

Default

you don't need a partition for paging. Especially with 4gigs of ram.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 09:00 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Thanks all.
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 09:04 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Man so many questions...

So I select NTFS obviously, should I stick with Default allocation size, should I enable file and folder compression?
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes