Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 08:36 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default Boot MGR

I just cleaned up the cabling in my computer.

Now I'm getting this issue.

I have ONLY my OS drive installed (Win7 64) and when I turn on my PC i'm not getting a

BOOTMGR is missing press
Ctrl+Alt+Del to Restart.


Why would then even happen when I didn't even change any hardware or anything else.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 08:48 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

Did a BOOTREC and it's up and running now i think :) i'll plug in the other drives and see how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 09:56 PM
groundwire123's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 45

My System Specs

Default

let us know I'll be monitoring this thread:)
__________________
the one and only,
groundwire123
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 10:07 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

All is well now. My thoughts on what happened is that when i hooked up my Sata cables again I didn't put them in the same order on the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 1, 2012, 10:13 PM
groundwire123's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 45

My System Specs

Default

don't remember that ever giving me problems but that depends from system to system. Glad its all good
__________________
the one and only,
groundwire123
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2012, 06:18 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

if you plugged the sata cables in the wrong order it could have just been looking at the wrong drive to boot from happens all the time
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 2, 2012, 06:44 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,951
Default

yes tag or colour code drives to keep same order

or hit F? (depends on MB) to bring up boot selection to select what drive to boot from
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device BrianHanna Troubleshooting 44 February 11, 2010 01:13 PM
PC Will Not Boot Wheezy Troubleshooting 9 September 8, 2009 03:19 PM
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 07:46 PM
No way to boot sciwhiz Troubleshooting 13 October 27, 2007 05:41 PM