Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 01:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default upgrade or full?

Upgrade or full?
I got windows xp right now, and I want to know whether I should just buy windows vista upgrade home premium or spend a buttload more and get the full version..
__________________
Inside:
Coolermaster Centurion 5
Rocketfish 700w Powersupply
Amd Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Gigabyte Motherboard
2gb PC6400 1.8v from OCZ
BFG 8800 GT Overclocked
250gig Western Digital S-ATA HD

Accessories:
Razer Lachesis
Logitech G15 2nd Edition
Plantronics Gaming Headset.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 01:47 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Depends on whether or not you're a big tweaker- if you're switching out motherboards and hard drives frequently, you might want to get the full retail version (I did), but I know alot of people are probably going to tell you just to stick with XP.

but if you're just trying to decide between upgarde version and OEM full, then just get the upgrade, because it can be clean installed just like the full versions- lots of instructionss on how to do this around the web

Last edited by Babrbarossa; March 10, 2008 at 05:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 03:44 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Depends on whether or not you're a big tweaker- if you're switching out motherboards and hard drives frequently, you might want to get the full retail version (I did), but I know alot of people are probably going to tell you just to stick with XP.

but if you're just trying to decide between OEM upgarde version and OEM full, then just get the upgrade, because it can be clean installed just like the full versions- lots of instructionss on how to do this around the web
Just to clarify, the only upgrade edition is retail, and there's only 1 (full) OEM edition, OEM and upgrade never go together.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 04:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 19
Default

yeah i wouldn't get OEM, save my self the hassle and get the upgrade then can be used multiple times easily
__________________
Inside:
Coolermaster Centurion 5
Rocketfish 700w Powersupply
Amd Athlon 64 X2 4200+
Gigabyte Motherboard
2gb PC6400 1.8v from OCZ
BFG 8800 GT Overclocked
250gig Western Digital S-ATA HD

Accessories:
Razer Lachesis
Logitech G15 2nd Edition
Plantronics Gaming Headset.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2008, 05:35 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarod_g29 View Post
yeah i wouldn't get OEM, save my self the hassle and get the upgrade then can be used multiple times easily
Yeah- the upgrade version will behave just like the full retail using the clean install method so there's no point in getting the full retail unless you want the 64 bit version which is available with the retail full (I don't think the 64 bit option comes with the upgrade)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 12, 2008, 09:02 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,228
Default

If you buy the upgrade version you can order the 64bit version from MS for like $13 or so incl. shipping.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crysis full version now belgolas Gaming 32 November 28, 2007 04:14 PM
Full Load/Temperature Questions Boat Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 November 12, 2007 12:27 AM
Drivers for full SATA under XP? sswilson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 October 8, 2007 08:24 AM