Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 03:47 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,761

My System Specs

Default Changing Vista/7 Library Locations

I was just wondering if anybody knew of a way to do this a lot easier/quicker than I currently do it. Maybe a batch file or a program?

As it stands right now, at work we split the drive 50/50 for OS and Data. By hand, I right click each one, Contacts, Desktop, Downloads, Favourites, etc) and change the location from C: to D: (or E: or F: if the DVD drive(s) end up as the D:/E: drive). This is tedious on desktops and an absolute pain in the ass on a laptop touchpad. Any way to expedite this would be great!

Thanks guys.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 05:54 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

Just so I am sure what exactly you want, you are wanting to do this on multiple machines all at once or just a faster way to do it on each one individually?

Also with all these machines that you are changing right now, are you under a standard user account or going under each persons individual account?
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 05:59 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,761

My System Specs

Default

One computer at a time, just a single account. This is strictly for after we reload Windows on their computer. Our standard procedure is 3 partitions: OS, Data, and Recovery (Norton Ghost image goes in there) The main account is always named "Owner", and it's the only account we actually make ourselves.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 06:59 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

Ok.

Here is a site that explains how to change it for any new users but I don't think it will work quite right if you are creating the "Owner" account right off of the bat when first setting it up. It is really designed to do it for when a new user logs on for the first time. I will think about this as since we are only dealing with one account there should be a batch that will allow you to change it. But you are basically moving all of the user files over to the d/e drive, hmm I will think on this but I'm sure we can do it.

How to Change User Profile Default Location in Windows 7 | Windows7hacker
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 07:40 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,761

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
But you are basically moving all of the user files over to the d/e drive
Exactly. The amount of times we see customers come back with a dead OS, putting all their data on a separate partition saves so much time and money. Just Ghost the image back to C: and they're out in 5 minutes, data intact.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2011, 07:52 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

Here is a thought just set up a hard link. The simplest way I know of doing this is actually using a program called steam mover.

Steam Mover - traynier.com

It is designed to move steam stuff to a different drive, but really it should work for this. Just select the main user folder "c:\users\owner" and then set the destination and click go. Now you will see everything in the d drive but from the OS point of view everything is still in c:\users. To be honest I have never tried it on an entire user folder but I don't see why it would not work. This way even if they put on a program that forces its info to go to c:\users, it will all go to the d drive.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2011, 03:22 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,761

My System Specs

Default

Errr, maybe. I'm kinda scared going that way though, what happens if they uninstall the software? I've had no luck finding a solution to this, guess I'll stick to manually doing it unless some good samaritan comes out of nowhere.


Edit:
Oh, no uninstaller...hmm. Might give it a shot.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...


Last edited by Lpfan4ever; December 15, 2011 at 04:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2011, 09:17 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,761

My System Specs

Default

Bumpity bump bump

(And thanks for all the help so far ipaine)
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2012, 11:13 AM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,761

My System Specs

Default

And turns out my co-worker and I are both full of herp derp. You can cut/paste the user library folders to where you want and the OS will reroute everything on its own. That saves us a couple minutes and about 50 mouse clicks.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing my OS HDD to SSD Cadence O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 September 11, 2010 08:44 PM
Video card manufacturer rma locations in Canada 0o0 Video Cards 5 April 4, 2010 09:14 PM
changing ownership in Vista JupiterTrooper O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 December 18, 2009 01:19 PM
CL changing to 4.0? somecanadianguy RAM 4 April 20, 2009 04:18 PM
This is a test of Library of Congress linking among other things. Bognostraglum Off Topic 1 August 11, 2008 12:34 PM