Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2011, 04:21 PM
JayDeeHobbit's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 387

My System Specs

Default My first experience with Windows phone activation.

I've formatted my HDD many times and did numerous hardware upgrades with XP over about 7 years but I had a legit corporate copy on my personal PC so I never had to do any activation.

I started using a legit retail copy Win 7 about a year ago and I replaced my motherboard last week so this is my first time that I was told to activate.

I used the phone activation and it went very smoothly but why the heck do they need 9 sets of 6 digits read over the phone and then another 9 sets of 6 digits I need to key in = lol ain't that a tad overkill. As I said it went smooth but I found this ridiculous.
__________________
"Try looking into that place where you dare not look!
You'll find me there, staring out at you!" - Frank Herbert
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2011, 07:33 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 926
Default

Very ridiculous... I've had to do it a few times for clients of mine when I upgraded their machines... lots and lots of numbers to enter. Not sure what the point of it all is...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a Panasonic bluetooth phone as a home phone chrisk iPhone & iPods 7 September 27, 2011 09:51 AM
Memory and Windows Experience Index beginnerbuild Troubleshooting 27 April 11, 2011 03:37 PM
Windows activation lock out? btecanada O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 April 22, 2010 02:20 PM
DMA Re-Activation Shredder O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 March 17, 2007 12:27 PM
Windows Vista Activation Cracked Yet Again Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 2 January 1, 2007 03:29 PM