Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2008, 08:17 AM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default Need a linux OS with tcsh (C shell)

I'm a little hard pressed right now to be searching for a good linux OS with the c shell so I was hoping someone may already know of one.

I have Fedora and ubunto I just haven't installed them nor can I remember what shell they use.

If you can help me hear it be greatly appreciated.
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2008, 09:20 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chibi_man View Post
I'm a little hard pressed right now to be searching for a good linux OS with the c shell so I was hoping someone may already know of one.

I have Fedora and ubunto I just haven't installed them nor can I remember what shell they use.

If you can help me hear it be greatly appreciated.
All linux distros can use the tcsh shell you may just have to install it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2008, 09:42 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Fedora and Ubuntu use BASH as default but you can change your shell.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2008, 10:45 AM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

Can you tell me the command to change the shell?
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 02:11 PM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

Ok.. further study has taught me that changing the shell can be more trouble some if my copy of linux is corrupt.

I'm looking for a linux OS that comes with C-Shell as it's default now.
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 08:17 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

chsh will change it. you can also just type in the name of the shell. Like "bash" for BASH. I think C Shell is csh.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2008, 08:28 PM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

It is... I have been playing dumb with the thing. I'm to use to my college's unix server.
I have Kubunto installed. So far it seems as if Bash shell is the only shell there. which is odd because it list a done others in the "/etc/shells" file.

I'm trying every upgrade I can get a hold of so hopefully I get lucky. The other option is manually installing the c shell... HOW? I have no idea.
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2008, 09:06 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chibi_man View Post
It is... I have been playing dumb with the thing. I'm to use to my college's unix server.
I have Kubunto installed. So far it seems as if Bash shell is the only shell there. which is odd because it list a done others in the "/etc/shells" file.

I'm trying every upgrade I can get a hold of so hopefully I get lucky. The other option is manually installing the c shell... HOW? I have no idea.
Search for it in Synaptic. Aslo type 'csh' to see if it loads it.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2008, 11:17 AM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

I got nothing out of it. What a royal pain... It be nice If I can just open up a console prompt and run c shell in windows
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 28, 2008, 11:57 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

sudo apt-get install csh works. Then in Kubuntu you can (in the gui) go to the user control panel and change one's shell from /bin/bash to /bin/csh. Or in the CLI, type chsh and type enter. Then it will ask for your password. Type it in and then for login shell, use /bin/csh. All should be well.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memoires of a Linux Convert. tzetsin O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 February 17, 2008 10:45 AM
Who is using linux? Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 34 February 1, 2008 03:31 PM
Seagate snubs Linux Shadowmeph Press Releases & Tech News 4 December 16, 2007 09:11 PM
Linux status. Mysteryous Video Cards 1 September 10, 2007 08:02 AM
Linux first to crash :( Shadowed O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 10, 2007 07:01 AM