Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2008, 01:12 PM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

Well, sad to say I had no idea you could download it. In any case, it's HUGE. So Yes I'll probably get it.

But, for now I would like to get my Fedora running again. How can I set my graphic settings back to default from the command line?
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2008, 01:18 PM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

Wait.. nevermind... by some miracle I managed to make it work

I just wish I can make the dual screen work.
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2008, 01:31 PM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 200

My System Specs

Default

Try this:

system-config-display --reconfig --noui

then reboot and you should get a generic and horribly large X windows that you can then reconfigure using the gui.

EDIT: pooh, I'm posting over your replies. I don't know how to get dual screen working either, I've never had the hardware to try.
__________________


Last edited by low351; February 29, 2008 at 01:32 PM. Reason: One two step
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2008, 01:59 PM
chibi_man's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Courtice, Ontario
Posts: 494

My System Specs

Default

It's funny, Fedora or any other linux OS gives me the option, it just rarely works for some odd reason.

hmm... I hope you don't mind answering my bombardment of questions. I just got lots of things I want to learn.

Seeing how it is working, and working well enough for me to complete my task. I'd like to figure out a way to access the command line inside of windows.

I have everything set up on it's own personal HDD. 2x drives for files and etc, 1 drive for windows, and 1 for linux. Just makes everything impartial to each other so I can't royally screw both OS and my files all at once. (surely you could, I just feel safer this way)

I have heard of some program that allows me to run the OS inside of XP in a window, but thats not exactly what I am looking for. I'm thinking of something like telnet only using my own system to access it self (sounds odd but hard to put in better words).
__________________
_____________________________________
If you can't beat it... SMASH IT!!!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old February 29, 2008, 08:47 PM
low351's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 200

My System Specs

Default

I don't mind questions, I'm glad to provide what help I can.

Linux is an operating system, The only way you can access it in a windows prompt even by telneting to itself is to run it in Vmware. That way you can have it running in the background and telnet to it.

For you though the best option would have been to use VMware player with an appliance, that's a fully functional Fedora or other linux distro pre-created for you. It's a large download but it's really non-invasive as far as your system is concerned.

The way you have it currently installed you'll have to choose to boot one O/S or the other. I'm not sure you can activate the installed partition of Linux in windows since it has been installed for the direct hardware and not with the Virtual drivers.

Btw, if you can't find a virtual appliance for the O/S you want, you can download VMware server for free and it allows you to install, like Solaris 10 for instance.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memoires of a Linux Convert. tzetsin O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 February 17, 2008 10:45 AM
Who is using linux? Shadowmeph O/S's, Drivers & General Software 34 February 1, 2008 03:31 PM
Seagate snubs Linux Shadowmeph Press Releases & Tech News 4 December 16, 2007 09:11 PM
Linux status. Mysteryous Video Cards 1 September 10, 2007 08:02 AM
Linux first to crash :( Shadowed O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 September 10, 2007 07:01 AM