Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2011, 09:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default A few question regarding a hardware upgrade.

I have recently bought a i5-2500k along with a p67 motherboard and i was wondering if i would have to re install win 7 again, or the OS will take care of everything. I have upgrading from a Q8300 cpu. I am transferring over all my hardware as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2011, 10:03 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 265
Default

You can try plugging in the HD and turning it on. You'll get all kinds of messages about drivers, both auto installing from Win7 and drivers required, which should be on the motherboard disc - though I recommend going to the manufacturer website and getting the most up to date versions (which means installing the LAN driver off the disc or pre-loading the one off the website to a thumb/portable drive).

If your system acts goofy at all, I'd reinstall Win7...which will mean revalidating. If you have the ability to back up your files, a fresh install would be preferrable anyways.
__________________
2600K @4.6 for now, still tweaking.
P8Z68-V Pro Gen3
Patriot Div2 Viper Extreme PC3-15000 4GBx2 (1866 9-11-9-27-2)
EVGA GTX 580 SSC
Caviar Black 1TB x2 RAID0
Corsair Gold 850W
Corsair H80
Corsair 600T Graphite
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 03:00 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Also would a 550 watt fatl1ty psu be enough
to power the new 2500k setup with a 6950?
Would i be able to overclock with the psu?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 03:24 AM
maverick_brent's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 463

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by popmaster7 View Post
Also would a 550 watt fatl1ty psu be enough
to power the new 2500k setup with a 6950?
Would i be able to overclock with the psu?
i wouldnt recommend it, but you might be ok for awhile...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2011, 03:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3
Default

But based on my research the Q8300 actually draws more power overall then the 2500k
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2011, 11:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 7
Default

You might need to re-validate once you transfer your "old" hardware to your "new" hardwares and Windows 7 will definitely "help" (bug) you with it. It is very simple, no worries.

I would suggest you to get the i5-2500K, if you don't use much CPU intensive programs, such as Sony Vegas (video editing program) or Photoshop (photo editing). Most games now-a-day do not need more than 2 cores from your CPU and i5-2500K has 4 (but no hyperthreading in i7-2600K).

550W, definitely enough, even you do some overclocking.
However, for future reference, if you do want to go SLi or Crossfire, you will need a stronger supply.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 2, 2011, 06:19 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,038

My System Specs

Default

You will not have to reinstall Win7. It'll boot up on the new hardware just fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
another hardware vs bf3 question =) clouter Video Cards 11 October 23, 2011 06:54 PM
question about hardware SKW HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 July 17, 2011 06:38 PM
Question about older game(F.E.A.R) and hardware fourthman Gaming 8 February 16, 2011 09:34 AM
CeBit video card roundup from Hardware Upgrade Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 March 24, 2007 09:34 AM
Hardware Upgrade's 11 kit DDR2 memory overclocking roundup Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 January 3, 2007 08:27 PM