Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 11:31 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

"Same, who on earth could live with that cr** ?!"

How big of a performance hit is SP2?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 12:46 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
"Same, who on earth could live with that cr** ?!"

How big of a performance hit is SP2?
When I first installed it I found that it slowed things down, except for the internet which seemed slightly snappier. After subsequent updates, I think it probably runs @ the same speed as SP1.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 02:15 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,247

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I was refering to Super running ME on two machines..... :)
Yeah like I'm on them
I use this rig running XP pro same with the wifes rig XP pro, ME is just a 95 kerrnel right same as 98. ME does have its moments
Any one got a copy of MS BOB?
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 02:17 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,520

My System Specs

Default

Heh, no.......

I do think I've got a copy of 3.1 on disks around here somewhere though..... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2007, 02:27 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars View Post
All stuff that you can disable. ;) And security updates are only released for SP2 anymore.

I'm using Vista 64-bit on my main rig, don't own an XP license for it, and wasn't about to buy one when Vista was already available.
I don't use Windows Update; tis all a bunch of hype to get people excited that their confuzers will be haxx0red by elite groups.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2007, 05:04 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

hehe! Crucial isn't mincing words with this ad.

Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2007, 04:26 PM
Deathspawner's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 204
Default

respect.crucial++
__________________
Techgage.com | Editor in Chief

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.20GHz, ASUS P5K Premium WiFi-AP, OCZ 8GB PC2-6400, EVGA GTX 285 1024MB
Seagate 500GB, 750GB & 1TB, Pioneer 22x ODD, Corsair 1000HX, Thermalright Ultra-120, CM Storm Sniper
Dell 2408WFP 24", ASUS Xonar Essence STX, Ultrasone PRO 750, Gentoo Linux (KDE 4.4, 2.6.32 Kernel)

"Take care to get what you like, or you will be forced to like what you get!" - H.P. Baxxter

Profiles: Last.fm | Xbox Live | Steam
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 10:30 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I'll probably wait a year or 'till SP1 is out, whichever is first.Another factor in my decision before buying it will be if I can afford to buy another printer and scanner when they work perfectly well with XP. I've been around this since Longhorn 4015 and I've always dual booted just because of peripheral problems. Someone above mentioned x64, if it goes like XP x64 did for 3rd party programs, that will die too except for the uber geeks. I bought my x64 rig just to run it and it bit me back. I would have better spent my bucks on a fast x86 proc. ATT.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 12:44 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

Home1: XP Pro /SP2
Home2: MCE 2K5
Home3: XP Pro /SP2
Home4: XP Pro /SP2
Home5: XP Pro /SP2
Home6: FreeBSD

As you can see, im heavilly invested in XP. And honestly, there has to be more to switching to Vista than that damn *3d alt-tab* feature you keep seeing on crappy MDG computer commercials. heh
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2007, 02:24 PM
Brenda's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Dartmouth, NS
Posts: 24
Default

Win XP Pro SP2 on EVERY computer we own - five in total. No way I'm touching Vista for a very long time. All the crap is turned off like the firewall, auto updates, etc.

I'm not changing in the next year.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Happy New Year Supergrover Off Topic 11 January 1, 2008 06:54 PM
X38 or P35 for next year magictorch Rumor Mill 9 November 5, 2007 09:12 PM
Run Vista for a year without activation Babrbarossa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 March 18, 2007 11:24 AM
Happy New Year Supergrover Off Topic 0 January 1, 2007 09:41 AM
Xbox 360 Warranty Boosted to One Year Gav Gaming 0 December 22, 2006 01:18 PM