Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 11:41 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 508

My System Specs

Default Backing up C Drive then putting on 2 RAID 0s

Hey Everyone,

I just got my RMA Vertex 120 from OCZ today so I want to link it up with my other Vertex 120 and put them in RAID 0.

What's the easiest way to backup my entire C: to another HDD then transfer it over to the RAID array. I'm assuming windows backup, but it's a little touchy at times so I want to make certain. Any tips you can provide would be great. Is there a better (or simpler, more reliable, etc) way to go about this.

I don't really feel like doing a clean Win 7 install and then reinstall either.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 11:44 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Caviar black? Caviar Blue? Salmon orange? - Updated with shameless plug
Quote:
Bashing a product is always fun.
Sharing a good experience is just as much fun.

I got my drive today.
Did a bit of research to copy my 80gb drive over to my new 1tb drive so I wouldn't have to re-install everything.
Free copy or clone hard drive with free backup software - EaseUS Todo Backup Free.

The software above made it a piece of cake, a walk in the park, or you can use whatever expression you prefer.

My steps:
Plugged in the drive
Researched the topic
Downloaded and installed the software mentioned above
Followed the instruction on the page I linked to
35 minutes later(right now), I'm running from my new drive.

I did not initialise the new drive prior to running EaseUs Todo Backup.
I did exacly the steps above.
I don't know if it's a known software, but I know I just used it and I think it's great and free!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 11:50 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 508

My System Specs

Default

That was fast and exactly what I needed. Much appreciated Blaze!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 11:51 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeKnight View Post
That was fast and exactly what I needed. Much appreciated Blaze!
Anytime!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2011, 09:21 PM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 508

My System Specs

Default

Well I followed the steps and.... that program ate up and spat out my pc like tomorrow. BSODs, boot failures, mem errors, lol. At least I had the sense to backup the stuff I wanted to a USB HDD.

Ended up doing a fresh Win 7 install and all is right with the world again. Just how it goes sometimes =D
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2011, 02:30 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

Because you are transferring to a raid there is a lengthier process required. I don't remember the details but it can be googled. Though, pointless at this juncture lol.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2011, 11:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 344

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeKnight View Post
Well I followed the steps and.... that program ate up and spat out my pc like tomorrow. BSODs, boot failures, mem errors, lol. At least I had the sense to backup the stuff I wanted to a USB HDD.
That's too bad, cause it worked awesome for me.
Maybe the process is different for Raid as clone63 pointed out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD Raid 0 Image to platter drive? Shredder O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 October 13, 2010 06:41 AM
What is the best 1TB hard drive for RAID? TheGregster76 Storage 20 June 23, 2010 10:48 PM
can I set up raid separate from my SSD drive? Shadowmeph Storage 4 June 1, 2010 05:09 PM
9 drive ssd raid 0 array tzetsin Storage 3 May 3, 2008 11:03 AM