Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 25, 2011, 09:42 AM
Rookie

My System Specs

Default Question(s) about Ubuntu Server

Hello HWC's,

I am new to ubuntu server and I like it, I am not use to it yet. I have always used Ubuntu Desktop.

My question is that once you install ubuntu-desktop on the server version are you able to switch back to the terminal only interface or are you stuck with the desktop now?

I enjoy learning to use the terminal interface, but until I understand all the commands I would like to be able to go into the desktop and do what I need to do. Is this possible?

Thanks!
MTP

Look at me, I'm wearing one shape up
Old September 25, 2011, 09:52 AM
Allstar
F@H

I've never used Ubuntu Server but I know Ubuntu has a terminal where you can do everything using the CLI.
Old September 25, 2011, 10:37 AM
Rookie

My System Specs

Yea, I am assuming its the the same with ubuntu server. I just want someone to confirm before i install desktop on my server....

Old September 25, 2011, 11:41 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

I haven't tried it on Ubuntu yet, but you should be able to set up the OS to start at runlevel 3 (rather than runlevel 5) so it will start with no GUI.
You can also keep the GUI (any combination of Gnome, KDE, LXDE, etc) installed and you can switch to GUI mode by using
Quote:
sudo init 5
You can also uninstall the GUI later, and if your computer is set to runlevel 3 you'll have no problems.

If you don't want to go through all that, you can also just leave your GUI at the log-in screen (or any screen you want for that matter) and press CTRL+ALT+F[1-7] to switch to various terminals to log on for terminal only.
Old September 25, 2011, 12:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

if you like CLI you can always SSH in to the server.
Old September 25, 2011, 01:51 PM
Rookie

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post