Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 01:57 PM
juanchacin's Avatar
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Venezuela
Posts: 1

My System Specs

Question Windows 7 x86 or x64?

Greetings folks, I will go straight to the point, I have always used 32-bit operating systems (x86) but lately I've considered making the leap to 64bit.
My fear of change to 64bit lies in 2 factors, "loss of performance and compatibility issues."

-I would like some opinions based on your own experiences on the subject, I mainly use the PC for, games, video editing (Adobe Premier), image editing (Adobe Photoshop), reproduction of A/V and office .

Info of my PC for reference.
CPU: Q6600@3.2
RAM: 3Gb
GPU: SLI GTX 260

In advance thanks to those who respond.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 02:46 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

If anything, you'd get better performance because 64bit applications can use more then 2GB of ram. And as for compatibility issues, i haven't run in to that once in the couple years ive run x64 operating systems, that was only in the XP era.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 04:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,386

My System Specs

Default

I thought x86 had instructions for both 64 and 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 04:43 PM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

Newer CPUs do, most atoms and older P4s, pentium D's and celerons don't.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 05:04 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

Go with 64bit. I've never noticed any problems at all when going to Vista 64bit and now Windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 05:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,570

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJThomp View Post
I thought x86 had instructions for both 64 and 32 bit
x86=32bit

Based off an old Intel processor naming scheme.

EDIT: BTW to the OP, the only issues I've had running 64 bit Windows is trying to run some 16bit legacy programs, otherwise I can't forsee any issues.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 24, 2011, 05:32 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

also if you decide on more ram you will be able to use it on a 64bit OS
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 04:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,630

My System Specs

Default

64 bit edition will handle more than 4GB of ram better, 32bit edition will not recognize correctly more than 3.5GB. 32 bit apps run fine on 64bit OS.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 26, 2011, 04:54 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

No reason not to go 64Bit
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2012, 04:16 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,557

My System Specs

Default

Hence the "most" ;)
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows N Keys Work With Normal Windows? geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 June 9, 2010 09:18 PM
Microsoft Windows 7 and Windows Live Mail shaman44 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 April 6, 2010 07:29 PM
Windows 7 Installation Problems: Stuck at Expanding Windows Fles flightsimnerd Troubleshooting 9 February 16, 2010 02:57 PM
Windows 7 Boxed Units Outsell Windows Vista by 234% FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 6, 2009 12:41 PM
Windows 7 64-bit RC and Windows Home Server Justin Cider O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 8, 2009 06:24 AM