Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 08:36 AM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 951
Question hibernate, sleep, or shut down?

Recently I'm wondering if I should be putting my home system into some low power mode overnight before resuming use the next day.

Do more people use hibernate mode or just shut down? With some other threads talking about deleting the hiberfil.sys file if you have more than 4gb ram, doesn't that disable hibernation? So is there a way to not use a swap file but still use hibernation?

What about background apps? I like to use MSI afterburner, I suppose I could shut if off manually before hibernation, but I wouldn't want to leave Steam or other apps running before hibernating, would I?

This would save a bit of hydro, and some wear and tear on fans, but of course folding isn't really worth it then. Curious what other people do.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 08:38 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

people shut their systems down?

I've never used any of those 3 ever on a desktop. at the most I tell it to turn off the monitor after a half hour.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 09:32 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,308

My System Specs

Default

the only times I have shut down my pc was when I was running on air and it was very hot outside ( no air conditioning ) or when I accidently pressed the off switch on my Diamond remote which just logged my pc out and I think it goes into sleep . other then that my pc is always on
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 03:03 PM
dandelioneater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 1,114

My System Specs

Default

If you're power consumption concious, I would just put it to sleep (S3) instead of shutting down. One might argue that its hard on components to be booting a cold system all the time, but I've never run into that problem.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 04:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
people shut their systems down?

I've never used any of those 3 ever on a desktop. at the most I tell it to turn off the monitor after a half hour.
Until Windows 7, I ALWAYS shut down my non Linux systems after using them. My old boss used to tell me you could eventually run into annoying kernel issues if you didn't do so, especially on Windows systems. I have no idea if it's true or not. But now hybrid sleep is just too convienient to ignore.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 05:41 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,846

My System Specs

Default

I am still on XP, but I have and still do always shut down. Interested to follow this thread and see if maybe I will change that. That said, the first computer that was totally mine is now 10 years old and still used a few times a week for some various useless stuff at a friends place. It was and is used and shut down all the time with no problem ever. I had it on and shutdown daily for the first 6-7 years of its life.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 06:45 PM
On2wheels's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ontario
Posts: 951
Default

Yeah Bond, we have some Win95 and even a Windows 3.1 pc at work that's used weekly, shut down every night. Good ol Hewlett Packard.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 06:49 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

I've been using hibernate for my Acer win7 tablet, but have just started wondering if a full shutdown / restart might not actually be quicker than hibernate onan ssd.....

Other than that.... my non-portable PCs have always been left on 24/7.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2011, 07:06 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
Until Windows 7, I ALWAYS shut down my non Linux systems after using them. My old boss used to tell me you could eventually run into annoying kernel issues if you didn't do so, especially on Windows systems. I have no idea if it's true or not. But now hybrid sleep is just too convienient to ignore.
I've successfully had Windows machines run for more than 30 days before a restart due to software or hardware caused me to lose that.

Windows prior to 2000 would end up having memory issues where the system would get slower over time and become non-responsive but Windows XP changed that and now you can pretty much leave your system run as is.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2011, 05:55 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

On my main rig with SSD and 8 GB RAM, I'll either use non-hybrid sleep or shut down (when I'm in the mood that its fan noise is annoying me).

"Sleep" is also called Suspend to RAM, so that's why it's fast. The contents of your memory stay there, and the computer keeps the RAM powered on while in the low power state.
"Hibernate" is Suspend to DISK, or whatever medium your hiberfil.sys is kept on. All the contents of your RAM is copied to disk and then the computer is shut down, so if you have a lot of RAM (like my desktop's 8 GB) and your disk doesn't have very good sequential read speeds, then it may take almost as long as a cold boot to get working again.

On my laptop I only use shutdown because it's dual boot and I don't know which OS I'll run when I decide to open it up again.

As enaberif noted, you should normally be OK with suspend/hibernate and resume for very long periods of time. You will have problems if you have bad / unstable overclocked memory, or bad drivers that don't know how to handle sleep mode (more common on Linux than Windows, I've found).
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
shut down prob Haiden Troubleshooting 5 December 7, 2010 02:53 AM
PSU - can't shut down - 4 pin power still going tragd Power Supplies 1 October 27, 2010 10:14 AM
Windows 7 reboots when put in hibernate muse108dc O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 June 9, 2009 06:00 PM
whs wont shut down rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 April 11, 2009 05:52 PM
Tab = shut off ? Kilauea O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 November 6, 2008 04:58 PM