Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 01:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default Win7, 6950: Any way to use 2DVI+HDMI at once?

Hello helpful folks :)

I have a two-monitor setup that's been working well, and today I tried hooking my TV as well to my computer through HDMI on the my 6950. The TV was correctly detected and if I disable one of my monitors, I can manage to enable it in Windows.

The problem is that I need to disable one of my two monitors to enable the TV, otherwise I get an error. Mirroring one of the two monitors on the TV doesn't work either (that's what I'd like to do ideally). And yet the card is said to support up to 5 displays simultaneously...

Googling on the issue didn't give me any solid answers. Some people with a similar issue said they could get 3 monitors running at once only through the Displayport with an active DisplayPort converter, but the threads were old, and I have trouble fathoming that such a thing would be neccessary when there's an HDMI out on your video card. I don't know for sure though.

So, should I be able to use 2DVI+HDMI at once, or must I resort to adapters and getting new cables? Thank you for enlightening me

Val

Edit: on second thought, probably the wrong forum.. hard to tell. If its just Windows or ATI's drivers causing my issue, then great, but if its a hardware limitation, guess we can always move the thread :)

Last edited by Valamyr; September 9, 2011 at 02:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 01:59 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,972

My System Specs

Default

You need an active DisplayPort to DVI adapter. That is AFAIK the only way.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 02:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
You need an active DisplayPort to DVI adapter. That is AFAIK the only way.
Hmm thank you. I think I'll just turn off my second monitor as needed then :/

That's a weird limitation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2011, 04:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 71
Default

Another question on this topic:

Assuming I cant get my hands on an adapter like that short term, is there good, simple software that allows to switch easily between two monitor/desktop configurations? I'm sure that's out there.

Quite simply, if I disable one of my monitors, my desktop icons are all screwed up, and I have to change my active monitor, etc. If there was a simple way to just switch between two pre-defined configs (one for the monitors, one for monitor+tv), then I could totally live with that.

Any suggestions?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LAPTOP HDMI TO LCD TV HDMI NOT WORKING appplejack Display Units 15 May 3, 2014 11:15 AM
[FS] XFX 6950 2GB stuck at 500mhz, selling it cheaper, sold mckchun Buy/Sell & Trade 11 December 21, 2011 05:02 AM
Sapphire Launches Radeon HD 6950 TOXIC Edition, Fastest HD 6950 Yet Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 2 August 5, 2011 02:25 PM
[WTT] Anything for a RC(beta) of Win7 Soultribunal Buy/Sell & Trade 0 December 10, 2009 03:28 PM
Upgrading to Win7... how do I...? somecanadianguy HardwareCanucks F@H Team 3 November 19, 2009 04:01 PM