Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 02:22 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default Win7 Home & FTP ....??

I've been playing with this for a while (trying to get an LAN ftp server working) with Home Premium....I've been told that it does work for Home, but I'm thinking "No, it doesn't".

Can I get IIS Manager (Internet Information Service) running? Yes. Create ftp sites? Yes. But I cannot log in.

This is the best step by step YouTube vid I'm come across (not literally you perverts )

How to set home FTP Server in Windows 7 using IIS - YouTube

It all works just great for me, until I get to the PASSWORD, it just stops. Also under Computer Management I do not have the "Local Users and Groups" option. This is confirmed to only come with Win7 Pro and Ultimate Editions.

Unless someone can prove me wrong, I've thinking Win7 Home's ftp is 'nurtured'.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 02:43 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

Personally, I'd use a thirdparty FTPD, alot easier to setup.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2011, 03:13 AM
The Quicken's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: BC CANADA
Posts: 278

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
Personally, I'd use a thirdparty FTPD, alot easier to setup.
Normally I would agree but I've been playing with IIS Manager for so long now that I'm feeling pretty comfortable with it.

Does anyone have Win7 Home with a working ftp server? Pro and Ultimate are the way to go for Networking buffs who wouldn't even bother with Home Premium. (at least the ones I know) so I having some difficulty getting a straight answer about this.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote desktop issues (Win7 pro to Vista Home Premium) Varroa Networking 13 September 20, 2013 10:34 AM
Win7 Home to PRO Upgrade Q&A The Quicken O/S's, Drivers & General Software 18 April 22, 2011 03:06 PM
win7 shutsdown itself? importpsycho O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 September 30, 2010 06:18 PM
Win7 Starter vrs Home Basic sswilson O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 July 31, 2010 06:47 AM
AkG? What's the best way to TRIM in Win7? Delavan Storage 6 April 12, 2010 06:28 PM