Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2011, 02:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default Tis Out Of Control!!!!

so basically i get these temp directories growing by the minute,filling up me c partition very quickly.

in safe mode it doesnt happen, and in normal mode with all proggies turned off from device manager(read killed off) it still happens. no virus,spyware,etc was found as of 10 mins ago.

help or ill kill it lol!

danke
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2011, 02:55 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 947
Default

What did you use to scan for viruses? Have you taken a look in your temp directory to see what files are filling it up?
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2011, 03:12 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

avg,spybot.

so far ive narrowed it down to windows back up,which i set to disable from auto, in services.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2011, 06:58 PM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 947
Default

Post here if that ends up not being the solution and we can do some more looking.

I have to admit that I've pretty much lost all faith in Spybot and haven't used it in a long time. I've found that Malwarebytes is about the best at this point although Dr.Web CureIt is looking interesting. I just haven't had a chance to do much testing with it lately. I guess my point is to consider changing malware scanners. Obviously just a suggestion.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2011, 08:45 PM
Andy's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Taichung / Toronto
Posts: 657

My System Specs

Default

I too have switched to Malwarebytes as primary. I still run both but MB tends to find everything Spybot finds and more.
__________________
SAGER 5165 - Matte Screen (1920x1080) - i7-2630QM - nVidia 555M - 8Gb DDR3 - 120Gb Corsair Force GT SSD - 500Gb Momentus XT - Intel® 6300
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2011, 08:51 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

that did it. it was the windows backup tool,which im not sure why it was going when i had disabled it.

malware bytes? yes,good indeed i used it as well when i had issues a while back and it cleaned good

thing is, spybot AND with the running process there is very good,before you get anything

if you already caught the sida,i mean,bug,then mb is better,yes.


edit : it was backing up to another drive, but for some reason temporary folders were amassing by the truckload,literally, in the c:/users/username/roaming/folder ...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 06:57 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 947
Default

Glad you got it sorted out.

If you are interested in trying new things you can replace AVG and Spybot with Microsoft Security Essentials. As much as I hate to say it MSE is probably my favourite free antivirus now. If you also like Spybot because it has the warnings (or used to last I used it) for system changes then you could use Winpatrol (BillP Studios - WinPatrol) which is a very lightweight program and free.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 07:08 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

will give it a try on a fresh puter :)

danke
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 07:40 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 947
Default

My pleasure, let me know what you end up deciding.

In case you are wondering, I do tech support for law firms in Toronto so I deal with more than my fair share of viruses :) I just like to pass along what I've found works best for me, or at least what works best out of the software I've tried.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2011, 10:04 AM
BobLoblaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Campbell River, Vancouver Island, Canada
Posts: 87

My System Specs

Default

I myself can also recommend MSE as pretty stalwart when it comes to protecting my compy.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Static Control Reyzac New Builds 15 June 5, 2011 03:13 PM
BP Is Out of Control kirk_d Off Topic 11 July 2, 2010 09:02 PM
I need a remote control TimTheEnchanter Peripherals 2 May 18, 2009 11:47 AM
FC2 control re mapping? upcoast604 Gaming 1 January 14, 2009 05:15 AM
Tis the season Digitaldemon Off Topic 0 November 30, 2007 05:23 PM