Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 4, 2011, 07:56 AM
Rookie

Default Problems with buying Windows 7 Ultimate

Hello, I'm building a new PC and I want to buy a retail full licensed version of Windows 7 Ultimate. I don't want OEM or any other kind of version. In my country Lithuania (Europe) it's ridiculously overpriced to $500 so I must buy it from the internet. I was about to buy it from Ebay for around $50-100 but then I figured out the truth. My friend informed me about all that region stuff. I mean most of them are "for distribution in US only" and thus the activation code is not going to work in my country Lithuania (Europe). Also I figured out that most of them on Ebay are fakes and really are OEM or other kind of versions but not the genuine retail full licensed versions. So what should I do? Tell me if I'm wrong about the region stuff. I'm really new to this stuff. Thanks in advance and excuse me for my terrible English.
Old July 4, 2011, 09:11 AM
Rookie

Is someone going to help me?

Answer me this then. Let's say I get a genuine retail version of Windows 7 Ultimate. Not the fake one but real. And if it's said on it "FOR DISTRIBUTION IN US ONLY" will I be able to install, activate and use it in Lithuania (Europe) without any problems?

For example this one. This seller have feedback score of 4423 and 99.6% positive feedback.

Windows 7 Ultimate 32 & 64 bit Full version SEALED! | eBay

Old July 4, 2011, 09:13 AM
Hall Of Fame

Why do you want Ultimate so bad for?

Is there something you NEED from it? Home Premium is all anyone really needs.
Old July 4, 2011, 09:38 AM
Rookie

There are a few reasons. I can change my mind but first I want to figure this out.
Old July 4, 2011, 09:39 AM
Hall Of Fame

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antanas View Post
There are a few reasons. I can change my mind but first I want to figure this out.