Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2011, 04:25 PM
jtf2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default windows7 sp1 install folder size?

i was checking my c cdrive out,and i saw the install folder for the service pack.
its size is approx 4.4 gigs
is that normal or what
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2011, 06:47 PM
Mook06's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 113

My System Specs

Default

not surprising, everything is so bloated
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2011, 08:04 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Are you installing SP1 as an update to an existing system? If so, it backs up all the files that it's going to replace, so that's probably why it's taking up that much space.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2011, 09:31 PM
jtf2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
Are you installing SP1 as an update to an existing system? If so, it backs up all the files that it's going to replace, so that's probably why it's taking up that much space.
yes it was an update to the original install.

brutal that it takes up that much space.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2011, 09:59 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtf2 View Post
yes it was an update to the original install.

brutal that it takes up that much space.
Take a look at the Window directory.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2011, 06:19 AM
jtf2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Take a look at the Window directory.
holy shit 19 plus gigs,guess the 4.4 is a pittance eh
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2011, 04:05 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

You can run Disk Cleanup afterwards to remove a fair amount of the temp/backup files from the SP1 installation, but Windows 7 is still going to take up quite a bit of space. That's just how Windows is ;)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2011, 04:07 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

btw you guys using treesize right?

even the free version works out nicely! :)

someone mentioned glary utilities a while ago,been using that with the free ccleaner and
they do a great jobbe together
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Steam install folder martin_metal_88 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 January 25, 2011 06:35 AM
Low Consumption Folder OR Part time POWER Folder ilya New Builds 3 May 16, 2010 03:33 PM
Windows7 cheap for students somecanadianguy O/S's, Drivers & General Software 35 October 27, 2009 08:27 AM
Vista 64 Bit SP1 install on SSD Guides? rjbarker Storage 17 September 12, 2009 10:40 PM
Vista SP1 ... Failed to install 4 times and going for 5... TwystedMonkey O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 May 26, 2008 02:48 PM